House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Dr Graham Gibson Jacobs
Electorate Office:...

107 Dempster Street,
Esperance, WA 6450

Postal Address:
PO Box 1394
Esperance 6450
Ph: 9071 6555
Fax: 9071 6788
Email: graham.jacobs@mp.wa.gov.au
Website: www.grahamjacobs.com.au

Electorate Office:
99 Burt Street,
Boulder, 6432
PO Box 2630,
Boulder, 6432
Ph: 9093 1455
Fax: 9093 1855
Email: graham.jacobs@mp.wa.gov.au
Website: www.grahamjacobs.com.au

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
JACOBS, Graham Gibson, MLA
Member for Eyre
Liberal Party

Elected to the Thirty-Seventh Parliament for Roe on 26 February 2005 in succession to Ross Andrew Ainsworth (retired). Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2007.
Elected to the Thity-Eighth Parliament for Eyre (new seat) on 6 September 2008. Re-elected 2013.

Standing Committees

Member Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation from 7 April 2005 to 13 February 2008.
Member Education and Health Standing Committee from 24 March 2011 to 30 January 2013.
Member Education and Health Standing Committee from 9 May 2013. (Chairman from 15 May 2013).

Parliamentary Party Appointments

Opposition Whip from 20 March 2005 to 22 August 2006.
Opposition Whip from 25 January 2008 to 17 June 2008.

Ministerial Appointments

Minister for Water: Mental Health from 23 September 2008 to 14 December 2010.

Shadow Appointments

Shadow Minister for Drug Abuse Strategy from 9 March 2005 - 4 February 2006.
Spokesperson on Disability Services from 4 February 2006 - 8 April 2006.
Shadow Minister for Disability Services; Seniors; Goldfields-Esperance from 8 April 2006 to 25 January 2008.
Shadow Minister for Environment and Climate Change; Goldfields-Esperance from 24 January 2008 to 17 June 2008.



Born 8 November 1949, Benalla, Victoria.
Arrived Western Australia 1955.

Martial Status


Qualification and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

MBBS, DRCOG, FRACGP, FACRRM. Medical Practitioner.


The electorate of Eyre is located in the Mining and Pastoral Region and includes the localities of Balladonia, Bandy Creek, Beaumont, Binduli, Bodallin, Boorabbin, Boulder, Boyatup, Broadwood, Bullabulling, Bullfinch, Cape Le Grand, Cascade, Castletown, Chadwick, Cocklebiddy, Condingup, Coolgardie, Coomalbidgup, Corinthia, Cundeelee, Dalyup, Dulyalbin, East Munglinup, Emu Flat, Esperance, Eucla, Feysville, Forrest, Fraser Range, Ghooli, Gibson, Grass Patch, Holleton, Hopetoun, Howick, Jerdacuttup, Kambalda East, Kambalda West, Koolyanobbing, Londonderry, Lort River, Madura, Marvel Loch, Merivale, Monjingup, Moorine, Rock, Mt Beaumont, Mt Burges, Mt Hampton, Mt Holland, Mt Ney, Mundrabilla, Myrup, Neridup, Noongar, Norseman, North Bodallin, North Cascade, Nulsen, Pink Lake, Ravensthorpe, Rawlinna, Salmon Gums, Scaddan, Sinclair, Skeleton Rock, South Bodallin, South Boulder, South Yilgarn, Southern Cross, Turkey Hill, Victory Heights, West Beach, West Kalgoorlie, West River, Widgiemooltha, Windabout, Wittenoom Hills, Yellowdine and Munglinup.
Enrolment (9 March 2015) 17,224; area 292,240 sq km.