Skip to main content

Ms Alison (Ali) Elizabeth Kent MLA

Acting Speaker

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Australian Labor Party

Inaugural Speech: pdf icon to inaugural speech transcript

Inaugural Video: Video link to Ali Kent

Speeches by Ms Alison (Ali) Elizabeth Kent
Portrait of member

Electorate Office:

227 Hannan Street
Kalgoorlie WA 6430

Ph: 9021 6766

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

KENT, Alison (Ali) Elizabeth, MLA
Member for Kalgoorlie
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Forty-First Parliament for Kalgoorlie on 13 March 2021, in succession to Kyran Martin O'Donnell (defeated).

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 4 May 2021.

Sessional Committees

Member, Parliamentary Services Committee from 12 May 2021.



Born 13 November 1960, Swansea, Wales, UK.
Arrived in Western Australia 26 April 1989.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Parliament



The electorate of Kalgoorlie is located in the Mining and Pastoral Region and includes all or parts of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Shire of Coolgardie, Shire of Dundas, Shire of Laverton, Shire of Leonora and the Shire of Menzies.

Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Balladonia, Bandya, Beadell, Binduli, Boorabbin, Boulder, Broadwood, Brown Hill, Bullabulling, Bulong, Caiguna, Cocklebiddy, Coolgardie, Cosmo Newbery, Cundeelee, Emu Flat, Eucla, Feysville, Forrest, Fraser Range, Hannans, Kalgoorlie, Kambalda East, Kambalda West, Kanowna, Karlkurla, Kookynie, Kurnalpi, Lake Darlot, Lamington, Laverton, Leinster, Leonora, Londonderry, Madura, Menzies, Mt Burges, Mullingar, Mundrabilla, Norseman, Ora Banda, Parkeston, Piccadilly, Plumridge Lakes, Rawlinna, Sir Samuel, Somerville, South Boulder, South Kalgoorlie, Ularring, Victory Heights, West Kalgoorlie, West Lamington, Widgiemooltha, Williamstown, Yarri and Yilkari.

Enrolment - 19,651 (11 February 2021)

Area - 555,549 km

Further Biographical Details for Ms Alison (Ali) Elizabeth Kent