Skip to main content
Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan MLA BEc, MS, PhD

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Liberal Party

Inaugural Speech:

Inaugural Video:

Speeches by Hon. Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan
Portrait of member
Electorate Office:...
Shop P05
Stockland Riverton
Cnr of High Road and Willeri Drive
Riverton WA 6148

Ph: 9457 1282
Fax: 9354 3044

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
NAHAN, Michael (Mike) Dennis, MLA
Member for Riverton
Liberal Party


Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for Riverton on 6 September 2008 in succession to Anthony David McRae (defeated). Re-elected 2013, 2017.

Parliamentary Appointments

Trustee Parliamentary Superannuation Board from November 2008 to 30 January 2013.

Ministerial Appointments

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education; Energy; Indigenous Affairs from 29 June 2012 to 21 March 2013.
Minister for Energy; Finance; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests from 21 March 2013 to 17 March 2014.
Treasurer; Minister for Energy; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests from 17 March 2014 to 17 March 2017.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Minister for Public Sector Management; State Development, Jobs and Trade; Federal-State Relations from 25 March 2017 to 27 June 2019.
Shadow Minister for Planning; Asian Engagement from 27 June 2019 to 28 February 2020.

Parliamentary Party Appointments

Leader of the Opposition from 21 March 2017 to 13 June 2019.

Standing Committees

Member, Economics and Industry Standing Committee from 13 November 2008 to 17 August 2012. (Chair from 26 November 2008 to 12 September 2012).



Born 2 July 1950, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA.
Arrived in Western Australia, July 1982; in Victoria, 1995 to 2006; returned to Western Australia, July 2006.

Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

BEc, MS, PhD. Consultant.


The electorate of Riverton is located in the South Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the City of Canning and the City of Melville.
Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Brentwood, Bull Creek, Mt Pleasant, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, and Willetton.

Enrolment (2017) 25,386; area 20 sq kms.