Skip to main content
  • No Sitting Scheduled Today
    No Sitting Scheduled Today
Hon. John Robert Quigley MLA LLB, JP
Attorney General; Minister for Commerce

House:Legislative Assembly
Party:Australian Labor Party

Inaugural Speech:

Speeches by Hon. John Robert Quigley
Portrait of member
Electorate Office:...
Shop 116
Ocean Keys Shopping Centre
36 Ocean Keys Boulevard
Clarkson WA 6030

Postal address:
PO Box 2024
Clarkson 6030
Ph: 9407 8600
Fax: 9407 8644

Ministerial Office:
5th Floor
Dumas House
2 Havelock Street
Ph: (08) 6552 6800
Fax: (08) 6552 6801

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook
QUIGLEY, John Robert, MLA
Member for Butler
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-Sixth Parliament for Innaloo on 10 February 2001 in succession to George Joseph Strickland (retired). Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2003.
Elected to the Thirty-seventh Parliament for Mindarie (new seat) on 26 February 2005. Re-elected 2008. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2011.
Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for Butler (new seat) on 9 March 2013. Re-elected 2017.

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 29 March 2005 to 7 August 2008.

Ministerial Appointments

Attorney General from 17 March 2017 to 13 December 2018.
Attorney General; Minister for Commerce from 13 December 2018.

Shadow Ministerial Appointments

Shadow Attorney General from 8 April 2009 to 11 March 2017.

Standing Committees

Member, Public Accounts Committee from 7 April 2005 to 7 August 2008. (Chair from 7 April 2005 to 7 August 2008).
Member, Procedure and Privileges Committee from 9 May 2013 to 30 January 2017.



Born 1 December 1948, Perth, Western Australia.

Qualifications and Occupation Before Entering Parliament

LLB; JP. Barrister and Solicitor.


The electorate of Butler is located in the North Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the City of Wanneroo.
Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Alkimos, Butler, Carabooda, Eglinton, Jindalee, Merriwa, Quinns Rocks, Ridgewood, Two Rocks, and Yanchep.

Enrolment (2017) 30,381; area: 163 sq kms.