Skip to main content

Our Deputy President

Portrait photo of Hon. Simon O’Brien MLC, Deputy President and Chair of Committees, Legislative Council

Hon Simon O’Brien, MLC, was elected the Chair of Committees by members of the Legislative Council on 23 May 2017.

The Chair of Committees presides during the Committee of the Whole House when the Legislative Council considers each clause of a bill and proposed amendments.

When the President is absent, the Chair of Committees presides and is referred to as the Deputy President.  The Deputy President may exercise and perform all the powers, authorities and functions of the President but retains their right to a deliberative vote.


Hon Simon O’Brien, MLC was an army officer cadet, hospital orderly and customs officer prior to being elected to the seat of South Metropolitan Region for the Parliament of Western Australia on 22 May 1997.

Simon has previously held positions as Minister for Transport; Disability Services; Finance; Commerce; and Small Business. Simon has also held various shadow minister positions.

Simon has served on Legislative Council committees, including in roles as Chair of the Committee on Environment and Public Affairs and Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Procedure and Privileges. He is currently a member of the Standing Committee on Legislation and the Parliamentary Services Committee and is Deputy Chair of the Standing Committee on Procedure and Privileges.

To read more about Hon Simon O’Brien, MLC, visit his biography in Members’ Biographies.