Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Council meets on 11/10/2022 (02:00 PM)
    Council sit 11/10/2022
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 18/10/2022 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 18/10/2022
  • The Estimates Committee meets on 10/10/2022 (09:30 AM)
    Committee meet 10/10/2022

Geraldton Electorate Profile (2021)

About the Geraldton Electorate

Map showing the boundaries of the Geraldton electorate for the 2021 election

PDF version of the Geraldton Electorate map

PDF version of the Agricultural Region electorate map

Area (sq km): 4,229
Number of Electors: 26,767
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Origin of the Name:
The largest city in Western Australia north of Perth, Geraldton is located on the coast 424 kilometres north north west of Perth. The city is located on Champion Bay, discovered by Commander D. Dring in the colonial schooner Champion in January 1840. The bay was named by the Royal Navy hydrographic surveyor, J.L. Stokes, who surveyed it later in 1840.
The Geraldton area was first explored by George Grey in 1839. In 1848 copper and lead were discovered on the Murchison River, and later that same year the Governor, Charles Fitzgerald, inspected the mineral deposits himself. On this trip he was speared in the leg by local Aborigines. The first exports of ore from the Murchison mines was made from Champion Bay in 1849, and soon after in 1850 surveyor Augustus Gregory was instructed to survey a townsite at this place.
By March 1850 Gregory had surveyed 40 half-acre allotments, and on June 3 1851 the townsite of Geraldton was declared. The name was most probably given by Surveyor General J.S. Roe, and honours the colony's Governor at that time, Captain Charles Fitzgerald. Fitzgerald was born in Ireland in 1791, and joined the Royal Navy in 1809. He rose to the rank of Captain in 1840 , and was Governor of Western Australia from 1848 to 1855.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.

Suburbs and Towns within the Electorate:
Beachlands; Beresford ; Bluff Point; Bootenal; Bringo; Burma Road; Cape Burney; Deepdale; Drummond Cove; East Chapman; Ellendale; Eradu; Eradu South; Georgina; Geraldton; Glenfield; Greenough; Karloo; Kojarena; Mahomets Flats; Meru; Minnenooka; Moonyoonooka; Moresby; Mt Hill; Mt Tarcoola; Narngulu; Northern Gully; Rangeway; Rudds Gully; Sandsprings; South Greenough; Spalding; Strathalbyn; Sunset Beach; Tarcoola Beach; Tibradden; Utakarra; Waggrakine *; Walkaway; Wandina; Webberton; West End; Wicherina; Wicherina South; Wonthella; Woorree
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one Electorate.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Legislative Council Region:

Local Governments within the Electorate:
City of Greater Geraldton

Government: Allendale Primary School; Beachlands Primary School; Bluff Point Primary School; Champion Bay Senior High School; Geraldton Primary School; Geraldton Senior High School; Holland Street School; Meekatharra School Of The Air; Mount Tarcoola Primary School; Rangeway Primary School; Waggrakine Primary School; Walkaway Primary School; Wandina Primary School.

Other: Geraldton Flexible Learning Centre; Geraldton Grammar School; Leaning Tree Steiner School; Nagle Catholic College; St Francis Xavier Primary School; St John's School; St Lawrence's Primary School; Strathalbyn Christian College.

Local Newspapers:
  • Geraldton Guardian
  • Midwest Times
  • Yamaji News

Books about Geraldton:
  • Geraldton - 150 years, 150 lives (200p. Geraldton Regional Library, 2001)
  • Geraldton - a photographic history (272p. Geraldton Regional Library, 2004)
  • Mary Bain: a life of its own - a social and economic history of the City of Geraldton and the Shire of Greenough, 1846-1988 (363p. City of Geraldton, 1996)
  • Constance Norris: Memories of Champion Bay of old Geraldton (117p. Soroptimist International, 1989)
  • Helen Wilson: Geraldton sketchbook (64p. Rigby, 1976)

Statistical Profile of the Geraldton Electorate


Information about the 2021 State General Election
Information about Previous Elections

Current Member

Lara Dalton (ALP)

Lara has lived in Geraldton most of her life, running her own small business and working in hospitality and tourism. She is also a lecturer at Geraldton TAFE.

Lara has served as deputy chair of the Mid West Development Commission and as a director of the Mid West Ports Authority. Ms Dalton is the first woman to be elected in the seat of Geraldton in its 131-year history.

Ms Dalton has said the biggest issues she will champion are improving sporting facilities, access to medical and mental health services, and social and crisis accommodation.

Contact details and Speeches



Successive Members for the Geraldton Electorate

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2015

Edward Vivian Harvey Keane   1890 - 1891
George Thomas Simpson Oppositionist 1891b - 1899
Richard Robson Independent 1899b - 1900
Robert David Hutchinson Oppositionist 1900b - 1904
Henry Carson Ministerialist 1904 - 1906
Thomas Leishman Brown Australian Labor Party 1906b - 1908
Henry Carson Ministerialist 1908 - 1911
Bronterre Washington Dooley Australian Labor Party 1911b - 1913
Samuel Richard Lewes Elliott Liberal Party 1913b - 1914
Edward Ernest Heitmann Australian Labor Party 1914 - 1917
Samuel Richard Lewes Elliott Liberal Party April 1917b - September 1917
John Collings Willcock Australian Labor Party 1917 - 1947
Edmund Henry Hartley Hall Country Party 1947 - 1950
William Hawkins Sewell Australian Labor Party 1950 - 1974
Jeffrey Phillip Carr Australian Labor Party 1974 - 1991
Robert (Bob) Clyde Bloffwitch Liberal Party 1991b - 2001
Shane Robin Hill Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Ian Charles Blayney Liberal
2008 - 24 July 2019
24 July 2019 - 17 August 2019
17 August 2019 - 2021
Lara Dalton Australian Labor Party 2021 -
By-elections for the Geraldton District
1891   Resignation of Edward Vivian Hartley Keane, November 1891. George Thomas Simpson elected.
1899   Resignation of George Thomas Simpson, 27 June 1899. Richard Robson elected.
1900   Resignation of Richard Robson, 13 June 1900. Robert David Hutchinson elected.
1906   Occasioned by the upholding of a petition against the return of Henry Carson 26 October 1906; seat declared vacant 30 October 1906.
Thomas Leishman Brown elected.
1913   Death of Bronterre Washington Dooley, 3 October 1913. Samuel Richard Lewes Elliott elected.
1917   Resignation of Edward Ernest Heitmann, 20 March 1917. Samuel Richard Lewes Elliott elected.
1991   Resignation of Jeffrey Phillip Carr, 28 February 1991. Robert (Bob) Clyde Bloffwitch elected.

b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)