Skip to main content

Albany electorate profile

Current Member

Starting as a telegram boy for the old Post Master General, Peter worked his way up through the ranks of the PMG and then Australia Post to become a Post Office manager.

After running his own newsagency business in Denmark, Peter returned to Australia Post a few years before his election to Parliament.

A keen middle distance runner and sub four minute miler, Peter represented Australia at the 1968 Olympics and 1974 Commonwealth games.

Peter Bruce Watson was elected to Parliament on 10th February 2001 and was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on 11 May 2017.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook, Twitter, Website

Albany Electorate Map

Albany Electorate/Electorate profiles 2017 Albany map small.PNG

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Albany Electorate

Albany cover/albany cover.PNG

(Click cover to download report)

Albany Stat 1/ep 2018 albany stat 1.PNG
Albany Stat 4/ep 2018 albany stat 4.PNG
Albany Stat 2/ep 2018 albany stat 2.PNG
Albany Stat 5/ep 2018 albany stat 5.PNG
Albany Stat 3/ep 2018 albany stat 3.PNG
Agricultural Stat 6/ep 2018 agricultural stat 6.PNG

* More Statistics for Albany Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Albany Electorate

Area (sq km) 10,820
Number of Electors: 25,011 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
The city of Albany, located on the south coast of Western Australia, was officially named by Governor Stirling at the beginning of 1832. It is named after Frederick, the Duke of Albany and York, and the favourite son of King George III. The city is located on King George Sound which was discovered and named "King George the Third's Sound" on 28 September 1791, by Captain Vancouver. Albany was the site of the first settlement in WA when Major Edmund Lockyer of the 57th Regiment, under instructions from the NSW Government hoisted the British Flag on 21 January 1827 on the site of "The Residency". The city was more often referred to as King George Sound or King George's Sound for about the first 40 years of settlement. Portion of it was originally named "Fredrickstown" by Major Lockyer in 1827 in honour of the Duke of York and Albany, Commander in Chief of the British Army. This name disappeared about 1831 and the name Albany was retained for the whole town.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Albany, Bayonet Head, Big Grove, Bornholm, Centennial Park, Cheynes, Collingwood Heights, Collingwood Park, Cuthbert, Drome, Elleker, Emu Point, Frenchman Bay, Gledhow, Gnowellen, Goode Beach, Green Range, Green Valley, Jerramungup, Kalgan, King River, Kojaneerup South, Kronkup, Lange, Little Grove, Lockyer, Lower King, Lowlands, Manypeaks, Marbelup, McKail, Mettler, Middleton Beach, Millbrook, Milpara, Mira Mar, Mt Clarence, Mt Elphinstone, Mt Melville, Nanarup, Napier, Nullaki, Orana, Palmdale, Port Albany, Redmond, Redmond West, Robinson, Seppings, South Stirling, Spencer Park, Torbay, Torndirrup, Vancouver Peninsula, Walmsley, Warrenup, Wellstead, Willyung, Yakamia and Youngs Siding.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission.
Government: Albany Primary School; Albany Secondary Education Support Centre; Albany Senior High School; Bremer Bay Primary School; Flinders Park Primary School; Gairdner Primary School; Jerramungup District High School; Little Grove Primary school; Mount Lockyer Primary School; Mount Manypeaks Primary School; North Albany Senior High School; South Stirling Primary School; Spencer Park Education Support Centre; Spencer Park Primary School; Wellstead Primary School; Yakamia Primary School.

Other: Australian Christian College - Southlands; Bethel Christian School; Great Southern Grammar; John Calvin School; Parklands School; St Joseph's College; Woodbury Boston Primary School; Woodthorpe School
Local Newspapers
Albany Advertiser
Albany Extra
Denmark Bulletin
Great Southern Herald
Great Southern Weekender
Narrogin Observer
Books about Albany
  • Les Johnson: Albany - who & what. (68p. Western Australian Museum, 2001)
  • Les Johnson: The Albany Chamber (166p. Albany Chamber of Commerce, 2004)
  • Les Johnson: Love thy land - a study of the Shire of Albany (229p. Sire of Albany, 1982)
  • Les Johnson: Major Edmund Lockyer - forgotten Australian pioneer (108p. Western Australian Museum, 2002)
  • Stan Austin: Lighthouses of Albany (83p. Western Australian Museum, 2004)
  • Alan Carter: Albany and the Great Southern - a region of diversity (90p. Green Skills Inc, 2006)
  • Gordon Marshall: Maritime Albany remembered (336p. Tangee, 2001)
  • Helen Wilson: Albany sketchbook (62p. Rigby, 1975)
  • Douglas Sellick: First impressions - Albany 1791-1901, travellers' tales (234p. Western Australian Museum, 1997)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Albany District

Lancel Victor De Hamel
Lancel Victor De Hamel   1890 - 1894
George Leake Oppositionist 1894 - 1900
John Frederick Tasman Hassell Oppositionist 1900b
James Gardiner Oppositionist 1901 - 1904
Charles Christopher Keyser Australian Labor Party 1904 - 1905
Edward Charles Barnett Ministerialist 1905 - 1909
Richard William Price Australian Labor Party 1909b - 1917
Herbert Robinson Nationalist 1917 - 1919
John Scaddan Nationalist 1919b - 1924
Arthur William Wansbrough Australian Labor Party 1924 - 1936
Leonard Louis Hill Country Party 1936 - 1956
Jack Hall Australian Labor Party 1956 - 1970
Wyndham Truran Cook Australian Labor Party 1970b - 1974
Leon Harold Watt Liberal Party 1974 - 1993
Antony Kevin Royston Prince Liberal Party 1993 - 2001
Peter Bruce Watson Australian Labor Party 2001 -
b = by-election
Black, David & Valerie Prescott. Election Statistics: Legislative Assembly of Western Australia, 1890-1996. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia Electoral Commission, 1997.
Parliament of Western Australia, Members (website)