Skip to main content

Armadale electorate profile

Current Member

Dr Antonio (Tony) Buti was educated at The University of Western Australia, Australian National University, Oxford University and Yale Law School where he undertook a second doctorate.

Dr Buti lectured in law at The University of Western Australia and has written books, articles and other publications on the removal of Aboriginal children from their families, the death penalty, human rights, British child migrants, trusts law and sports law.

His recent biography on Sir Ronald Wilson won the Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards 2007 Premier’s Prize and the Non-Fiction Prize and has been nominated (with the support of Justice Michael Kirby) for the 2007 Prime Minister’s Prize in Australian History.

Contact details and Speeches



Armadale Electorate Map

Albany Electorate/Electorate profiles 2017 Albany map small.PNG

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Armadale Electorate

Albany cover/albany cover.PNG

(Click cover to download report)

Armadale Stat 1/ep 2018 albany stat 1.PNG
Armadale Stat 4/ep 2018 albany stat 4.PNG
Albany Stat 2/ep 2018 albany stat 2.PNG
Albany Stat 5/ep 2018 albany stat 5.PNG
Albany Stat 3/ep 2018 albany stat 3.PNG
Agricultural Stat 6/ep 2018 agricultural stat 6.PNG

* More Statistics for Armadale Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Armadale Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,808 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Armadale derives its name from the railway station of Armadale which was established there in 1893. It is named after either of two Scottish towns of this name, one west of Edinburgh and the other on the North coast of Scotland.
Armadale, Brookdale, Camillo, Champion Lakes, Forrestdale *, Haynes, Hilbert, Kelmscott *, Mt Nasura, Mt Richon *, Seville Grove, Wungong
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Government: Armadale Senior High School; Cecil Andrews Senior High School; Challis Primary School; Grovelands Primary School; Gwynne Park Primary School; Kelmscott Primary School; Kelmscott Senior High School; Kingsley Primary School; Neerigen Brook Primary School; Westfield Park Primary School; Willandra Primary School

Other: Australian Christian College; Dale Christian School; John Calvin Christian College; John Wollaston Anglican Community School; Kelmscott John Calvin School; Pioneer Village School; Sowilo Community High School; Xavier Catholic School
Local Newspapers:
Comment News
Books about Armadale:
  • Daphne Popham: First stage South - a history of the Armadale - Kelmscott district (204p. Town of Armadale, 1980)
  • Kim Fletcher: Spanning the years 1894-1994 - a pictorial history of Armadale Kelmscott (52p. Armadale Kelmscott Historical Society, 1994)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Armadale District

Robert Pearce
Robert John Pearce

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1982

Robert John Pearce Australian Labor Party 1983 - 1993
Elsie Kay Hallahan Australian Labor Party 1993 - 1996
Alannah Geraldine Joan MacTiernan Australian Labor Party 1996 - 2010
Antonio (Tony) de Paulo Buti Australian Labor Party 2010 -
b = by-election