Skip to main content

Bateman Electorate Profile

Current Member

Dean is the Shadow Treasurer; and Shadow Minister for Energy. In the previous Parliament, he served as Minister for Transport, Finance and Agriculture.

Dean is proud to have represented the local community since his election to State Parliament in 2013 as the Member for Alfred Cove, and as the current Member for Bateman following the 2017 electoral boundary re-distribution.

Raised on a farm in Wagin, Dean was educated at Wagin Primary School and Wesley College and gained a Bachelor of Business, Economics and Financial Management from Curtin University and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investments from the Securities Institute of Australia.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook, Twitter

Bateman Electorate Map

Bassendean Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Bateman Electorate

Bassendean cover

(Click cover to download report)

Bateman Stat 1
Bateman Stat 4
Bateman Stat 2
Bateman Stat 5
Bateman Stat 3
Bateman Stat 6

* More Statistics for Bateman Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Bateman Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,371 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.)
Nomenclature: The name is taken from Bateman Road which was itself named after the Bateman family. The name of "Bateman" is that of a well known Perth merchant firm. The company began business in 1857, but the family arrived in the colony on the "Medina" in 1830. John Bateman built a store in Fremantle dealing in merchandise of many kinds and became postmaster at Fremantle in 1833. He also took part in the establishment of a whaling business at Fremantle and after his death in 1855, his sons took over the family business and formed a company in 1857.
Suburbs/Towns: Alfred Cove*, Applecross, Ardross, Bateman, Booragoon, Brentwood*, Melville*, Mt Pleasant*, Myaree*, and Winthrop.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Government: Applecross Primary School; Applecross Senior High School; Ardross Primary School; Bateman Primary School; Booragoon Primary School; Brentwood Primary School; Mount Pleasant Primary School; Winthrop Primary School

Other: St Benedict's School; Mel Maria Catholic Primary School/Myaree; Yidarra Catholic Primary School; Corpus Christi College
Local Newspapers:
Melville Herald
Melville Time
Books about Bateman:
W.S. Cooper: A city for all seasons - the story of Melville (327p. City of Melville, 1989)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Bassendean District

Christian Porter
Christian Porter

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 2007

Charles Christian Porter Liberal Party 2008 - 2013
Matt Taylor Liberal Party 2013 - 2017
Dean Cambell Nalder Liberal Party 2017 -
b = by-election