Skip to main content

Belmont Electorate Profile

Current Member

Before entering Parliament Cassie established the Belmont Community Group to run grassroots campaigns on local issues: for more police resources in the area, opposing high rise developments and council amalgamations.

Cassie is also passionate about the arts and served as a board member and chair of the Film and Television Institute of WA for nearly ten years. She believes in the production, promotion and protection of local art forms and culture.

Cassie's father was a Member of Parliament and minister in Victoria for many years; her sister is the Hon. Samantha Rowe MLC. She is a former assistant state secretary of the WA Labor Party.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook, Twitter

Belmont Electorate Map

Belmont Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Belmont Electorate

Belmont cover

(Click cover to download report)

Belmont Stat 1
Belmont Stat 4
Belmont Stat 2
Belmont Stat 5
Belmont Stat 3
Belmont Stat 6

* More Statistics for Belmont Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Belmont Electorate

Number of Electors: 24,155 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Most of the suburb of Belmont island was assigned to Captain Francis Henry Byrne in 1931. It is believed that Byrne named his land "Belmont" after his estate in England. The land was not developed, until 1882 when Shepherd Smith of Sydney purchased it, and in 1897 and 1898 instigated the major subdivision of the area. For many years the lots were quite large due to the development of the area for training racehorses, and because of the proximity to the Belmont Park Racecourse.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Ascot, Belmont, Burswood*, Cloverdale, Hazelmere*, Kewdale, Redcliffe, Rivervale and South Guildford, Welshpool*
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Government: Belmay Primary School; Belmont City College; Belmont Primary School; Carlisle Primary School; Cloverdale Primary School; Dawson Park Primary School; Kewdale Primary School; Redcliffe Primary School; Rivervale Primary School

Other: Australian Islamic College - Kewdale; Notre Dame Catholic Primary School; St Augustine's School; St Maria Goretti's Catholic School

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Belmont District

James Hegney
James Hegney

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1961

James Hegney Australian Labor Party 1962 - 1968
Colin John Jamieson Australian Labor Party 1968 - 1971

Constituency abolished under the Redistribution of Seats 1972

Constituency revived under the Redistribution of Seats 1988

Eric Stephen Ripper Australian Labor Party 1989 - 2013
Glenys Godfrey Liberal Party 2013 - 2017
Cassie Rowe Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election