Skip to main content

Bicton Electorate Profile

Current Member

Lisa grew up in a close-knit community in country Victoria, before moving to Western Australia with her husband Mark 23 years ago. Since then Lisa has always lived in the electorate, where she has fostered the same spirit of community she grew up with.

Lisa has a professional background in the health and fitness industry and taught aqua aerobics part-time at the Fremantle pool.

Lisa has always been passionate about education, and was inspired to form the Save Our Schools action group with other parents. Aside from her involvement with the P&Cs at Palmyra Primary School and Melville Senior High School, Lisa has also been a state councillor for the WA Council of State School Organisations (WACSSO).

In 2015 Lisa was elected as City of Melville councillor for the Palmyra/Melville/Willagee ward. Until recently, Lisa also managed the Palmyra Farmers Market and published the quarterly Palmyra Together newsletter.

Contact details and Speeches



Bicton Electorate Map

Bicton Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Bicton Electorate

Bicton Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Bicton Stat 1
Bicton Stat 4
Bicton Stat 2
Bicton Stat 5
Bicton Stat 3
Bicton Stat 6

* More Statistics for Bicton Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Bicton Electorate

Number of Electors: 24,640 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: The present suburb of 'Bicton' once comprised four grants taken up in 1830 by Alfred Waylen, Joseph Cooper, William Habgood and John Hole Duffield respectively. Bicton was the name of Duffield's estate in his home village in South Devon, England. The vineyard he established upon his death in 1859 was also given this name.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Alfred Cove*, Attadale, Bicton, East Fremantle*, Melville*, Myaree*, and Palmyra.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
(Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission)
Schools: Government: Clarkson Community High School; Clarkson Primary School; Currambine Primary School; Joondalup Primary School; Kinross College; Kinross Primary School; Mindarie Primary School; Mindarie Senior College; Somerly Primary School Spencer Park Primary School ; Wellstead Primary School ; Yakamia Primary School.

Other: Comet CaRE School; Peter Moyes Anglican Community School; Quinns Baptist College; St Andrew's Catholic Primary School; Francis Jordan Catholic School
Local Newspapers:
Melville Herald
Melville Times
Local Governments within District
City of Melville (part)
Town of East Fremantle (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Bicton District

Lisa O'Malley
Lisa O'Malley

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2015

Lisa O'Malley Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election