Skip to main content

Burns Beach Electorate Profile

Current Member

As a decorated Police Officer of over 27 years Mark worked tirelessly in the Northern Suburbs keeping our community safe. He has been a finalist for WA Police Officer of the Year for work engaging with community organisations to help combat youth disadvantage and received numerous commendations for his work in crises and service in East Timor.

As a surf lifesaver and having served as a volunteer firefighter Mark understands what it takes to work for the community. He is committed to making the Burns Beach community more prosperous for everyone.

Governments must invest in jobs. Mark's first priority is to advocate for jobs to stay in WA through investment and diversification.

Contact details and Speeches



Burns Beach Electorate Map

Burns Beach Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Burns Beach Electorate

Burns Beach Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Burns Beach Stat 1
Burns Beach Stat 4
Burns Beach Stat 2
Burns Beach Stat 5
Burns Beach Stat 3
Burns Beach Stat 6

* More Statistics for Burns Beach Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Burns Beach Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,000
(Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.)
Nomenclature: This suburb in the City of Wanneroo is located on land originally owned by the Midland Railway Company. In 1908 the Wanneroo Road Board, following a request by 50 district residents, applied for a 50-acre reserve for camping and a health resort at the beach. The request was granted, and by the late 1920s the area was well-used by locals and referred to by them as 'Burns Beach' after a farmer who ran sheep in the area.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Burns Beach, Clarkson, Currambine*, Iluka, Joondalup*,Kinross, Mindarie, Neerabup*, and Tamala Park
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
(Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission)
Government: Clarkson Community High School; Clarkson Primary School; Currambine Primary School; Joondalup Primary School; Kinross College; Kinross Primary School; Mindarie Primary School; Mindarie Senior College; Somerly Primary School Spencer Park Primary School ; Wellstead Primary School ; Yakamia Primary School.

Other: Comet CaRE School; Peter Moyes Anglican Community School; Quinns Baptist College; St Andrew's Catholic Primary School; Francis Jordan Catholic School
Local Newspapers:
Joondalup Times
Joondalup Weekender 
North Coast Times

Local Governments within District
City of Joondalup (part)
City of Wanneroo (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Burns Beach District

Mark Folkard
Mark Folkard

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 2015

Mark Folkard Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election