Skip to main content

Cottesloe Electorate Profile

Current Member

David was raised on a farm at Cranbrook in the South West of Western Australia. He is married and has 6 children. David has lived in the Cottesloe electorate for 33 years.

David completed a Bachelor of Science with 1st Class Honours and a PhD in Chemistry at the University of Western Australia. He has held technical roles including as a Forensic Scientist and Environmental Scientist with the State Government and also formed the Hydrometallurgy Research Group for Western Mining Corporation.

Most recently David was the Global Residue Manager for Alcoa’s Refining operations, having overall accountability for the refining residue operations in the United States, Spain, Brazil and Australia.

David is the Shadow Minister for Water; Industrial Development; Lands, and the Legislative Assembly Opposition Policy Co-ordinator.

Contact details and Speeches



Cottesloe Electorate Map

Cottesloe Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Cottesloe Electorate

Cottesloe Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Cottesloe Stat 1
Cottesloe Stat 4
Cottesloe Stat 2
Cottesloe Stat 5
Cottesloe Stat 3
Cottesloe Stat 6

* More Statistics for Cottesloe Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Cottesloe Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,034 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: In September 1886, the Commissioner of Crown Lands, John Forrest, announced his intention of subdividing an area of crown land between Perth and Fremantle into suburban lots and asked His Excellency, Governor Sir Frederick Napier Broome, to suggest a name. The Governor suggested "Cottesloe" on 21 September after "the title lately bestowed on a member of the Fremantle family". "Cottesloe" was named after Thomas Francis Fremantle, Lord Cottesloe, first Baron of Swanbourne (in 1874), the older brother to Captain Charles Howe Fremantle who, on 2 May 1829 raised the first British flag at Fremantle.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: City Beach*, Claremont*, Cottesloe, Dalkeith*, Mosman Park, Mt Claremont, North Fremantle, Peppermint Grove and Swanbourne.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Cottesloe Primary School
Freshwater Bay Primary School
Mosman Park Primary School
Mosman Park School for Deaf Children
Mount Claremont Primary School
North Cottesloe Primary School
North Fremantle Primary School
Swanbourne Primary School

Christ Church Grammar School
Iona Presentation College
Iona Primary School
John XXlll College
Methodist Ladies College
Presbyterian Ladies College
Scotch College
St Hilda's Anglican School for Girls
Beehive Montessori School
St Thomas' Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Western Suburbs Weekly
The Post
Books about Cottesloe:
Ruth Marchant James: Cottesloe - a town of distinction (414p. Town of Cottesloe, 2007)
Ruth Marchant James: Heritage of pines - a history of the Town of Cottesloe Western Australia (133p. Town of Cottesloe, 1977)
Maxine Laurie: Ten decades - a photographic history of the Town of Cottesloe (64p. Town of Cottesloe, 1995)
Katherine Wallace: Beaches, bush & riverbanks - memories of Cottesloe, Peppermint Grove & Mosman Park (165p. Cottesloe-Peppermint Grove-Mosman Park Library, 2006
H S G Downey: Mosman Park, Western Australia (75p. UWA Press, 1971)
Robert Pascoe: Peppermint Grove - Western Australia's capital suburb (168p. OUP, 1983)
Geoffrey Bolton: Claremont: a history (244p. UWA Press, 1999)
A Lovekin: Butler's "Hump", more recently known as Keane's Point - a short historical sketch (44p. Dix & Co, 1918)

2017 Election Result


2018 Cottesloe By-Election Results

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Cottesloe District

Ross Hutchinson
Ross Hutchinson

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1948

Ross Hutchinson Lib & Country League 1950 - 1977
William (Bill) Ralph Boucher Hassell Liberal Party 1977 - 1990
Colin James Barnett Liberal Party 1990b -2018
David John Honey (Dr) Liberal Party 2018b -
b = by-election