Skip to main content

Darling Range Electorate Profile

Current Member

Alyssa grew up in the hills and has lived in Perth’s eastern suburbs throughout her life.

After completing her schooling at Eastern Hills Senior High, she started her first small business at the age of 19. She is a strong advocate for vital infrastructure projects, small business and local community groups.

Alyssa was elected to the Upper House in 2008 and represented the East Metropolitan Region for two terms. Alyssa was duly elected to be the new member for Darling Range after the By-Election held on 23 June 2018, and holds the positions of Shadow Minister for Tourism; and Shadow Minister for Small Business.

Contact details and Speeches



Darling Range Electorate Map

Darling Range Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Darling Range Electorate

Darling Range Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Darling Range Stat 1
Darling Range Stat 4
Darling Range Stat 2
Darling Range Stat 5
Darling Range Stat 3
Darling Range Stat 6

* More Statistics for Darling Range Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Darling Range Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,624 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Named after the Darling Range. The Range was named General Darling Range by Captain James Stirling March 1827 after General Sir Ralph Darling, the then Governor of New South Wales. "General" was soon dropped from the name.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Baldivis*, Bedfordale, Bickley*, Byford, Canning Mills*, Cardup, Carmel*, Darling Downs, Gorrie, Hacketts Gully, Hopeland, Jarrahdale, Karnup*, Karragullen, Karrakup, Kelmscott*, Keralup*, Keysbrook*, Malmalling, Mardella, Mt Richon*, Mundaring*, Mundijong, Oakford, Oldbury, Pickering Brook, Piesse Brook*, Roleystone, Sawyers Valley*, Serpentine, The Lakes, Wellard*, Whitby and Wungong*.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Armadale Primary School; Byford Primary School; Byford Secondary College; Clifton Hills Primary School; Jarrahdale Primary School; Marri Grove Primary School; Mundijong Primary School; Pickering Brook Primary School; Roleystone Community College; Serpentine Primary School; West Byford Primary School; Woodland Grove Primary School

Byford John Calvin School; Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School; Sacred Heart School; Serpentine-Jarrahdale Grammar School; Southern Hills Christian College
Local Newspapers:
Kalamunda Reporter
Comment News
Darlington Review
Echo Newspaper
Hills Gazette (Kalamunda)
Books about Darling Range:
Neil Coy: The Serpentine: a history of the Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale (268p. South West Printing and Publishing Company, 1984)
Wilma Mann: Harnessing voices - a people's history of the Shire of Serpentine Jarrahdale (211p. Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale, 2001)

2017 Election Result

Darling Range by election result

Results by Polling Place etc

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Darling Range District

Tony Simpson
Tony Simpson

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Anthony (Tony) James Simpson Liberal Party 2005 - 2017
Barry Urban Australian Labor Party 2017 - 2018
Alyssa Kathleen Hayden Liberal Party 2018b -
b = by-election