Skip to main content

Dawesville Electorate Profile

Current Member

Zak grew up in Midland, and after high school and a brief stint at Murdoch University, spent 2006 to 2009 working for the Liberal Party of Western Australia, eventually becoming the youngest ever Deputy State Director of the Party.

He was Principal Policy Officer for Premier Colin Barnett, advising both the Premier and Government in a variety of areas, including environment, corrective services, agriculture, planning, housing, heritage, emergency services, Parliament and Aboriginal affairs.

Zak then moved into the private sector working for Australia’s largest privately-owned builder, BGC, affording him an invaluable opportunity to see both the high-level strategy side of construction, but also physically working on those sites.

Elected to the Fortieth Parliament for Dawesville on 11 March 2017, Zak is the Manager of Opposition Business; Shadow Minister for Health; Mental Health; Aboriginal Affairs; New Industries.

Contact details and Speeches



Dawesville Electorate Map

Dawesville Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Dawesville Electorate

Dawesville Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Dawesville Stat 1
Dawesville Stat 4
Dawesville Stat 2
Dawesville Stat 5
Dawesville Stat 3
Dawesville Stat 6

* More Statistics for Dawesville Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Dawesville Electorate

Area (km2): 168
Number of Electors: 26,624 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature:Named after the suburb of Dawesville. It was an unofficial name used by developers in the 1950s. Land subdivided in this area was owned by L.S. Dawe and R.L. Dawe after whom "Dawesville Estate" was named. This unofficial name became widely accepted by residents of the area and was approved on 16 May 1980.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Bouvard, Dawesville, Dudley Park, Erskine, Falcon, Halls Head, Herron and Wannanup.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Dudley Park Primary School
Falcon Primary School
Glencoe Primary School
Halls Head Community College
Halls Head Primary School
Ocean Road Primary School
South Halls Head Primary School

Dawesville Catholic Primary School
Living Waters Lutheran College
Local Newspapers:
Mandurah Mail
Mandurah Coastal Time
Local Governments within District
City of Mandurah (part)

2017 Election Result

Dawesville by election result

Results by Polling Place etc

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Dawesville District

Arthur Marshall
Arthur Marshall

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1994

Arthur Dix Marshall Liberal Party 1996 - 2005
Dr Kim Hames Liberal Party 2005 - 2017
Zak Kirkup Liberal Party 2017 -
b = by-election