Skip to main content

Hillarys Electorate Profile

Current Member

Peter Katsambanis was elected to the Parliament of Western Australia as the Member for Hillarys at the 2017 State Election. He is currently Shadow Minister for Police; Justice; Road Safety; and Industrial Relations.

Peter is the Chairman of the Community Development and Justice Standing Committee of the Legislative Assembly. Prior to this, Peter was a Member of the Legislative Council representing the North Metropolitan Region from 2013.

During his term in the Upper House, Peter also served as Deputy Chairman of the Estimates and Financial Operations Committee and was also a member of the Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation.

Peter holds Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Commerce degrees from the University of Melbourne

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Hillarys Electorate Map

Hillarys Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Hillarys Electorate

Hillarys Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Hillarys Stat 1
Hillarys Stat 4
Hillarys Stat 2
Hillarys Stat 5
Hillarys Stat 3
Hillarys Stat 6

* More Statistics for Hillarys Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Hillarys Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,698 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: This suburb is named after Bertram John Hillary, a Gallipoli war veteran who died in 1957 at the age of 62, and who set up the first beach shack on a lonely stretch of beach in 1930. That beach eventually came to be named after its best known inhabitant, courtesy of the Army which had use of the land during World War 2. The name was suggested as a suburb name by the Shire of Wanneroo, and was approved in 1971.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Beldon*, Craigie, Hillarys, Kallaroo, Marmion*, Padbury and Sorrento*.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Bambara Primary School; Craigie Heights Primary School; Hillarys Primary School; Padbury Primary School; School of Special Education Needs; Sorrento Primary School; South Padbury Primary School; Springfield Primary School; West Coast Language Development Centre

Other: Padbury Catholic Primary School; Sacred Heart College; St Mark's Anglican Community School; Whitford Catholic Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Wanneroo Times
Joondalup Times
Local Governments within District
City of Joondalup (part)

2017 Election Result

Hillarys election result

Results by Polling Place etc

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Hillarys District

Rob Johnson
Rob Johnson

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1994

Robert (Rob) Frank Johnson Liberal Party 1996 - 2017
Peter Argyris Katsambanis Liberal Party 2017 -
b = by-election