Skip to main content

Jandakot Electorate Profile

Current Member

As a long-time local with extensive small business experience Yaz Mubarakai understands the needs of small business operators and young families in WA.

Yaz has lived in the area for more than 20 years, previously running small businesses including Success Post Office, Café Royal and Majestic India restaurant. He served as a City of Cockburn councillor from 2011 to 2015.

Understanding well the traffic and congestion issues in Jandakot, Yaz continues to advocate strongly for sustainable transport solutions that reduce journey times and improve safety.

As the first Indian-born Australian elected to the W.A. Parliament, Yaz also has an interest in improving integration of multicultural migrants into our community.

Contact details and Speeches



Jandakot Electorate Map

Jandakot Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Jandakot Electorate

Jandakot Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Jandakot Stat 1
Jandakot Stat 4
Jandakot Stat 2
Jandakot Stat 5
Jandakot Stat 3
Jandakot Stat 6

* More Statistics for Jandakot Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Jandakot Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,278 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: The suburb of Jandakot takes its name from Lake Jandakot which was recorded with this name as early as 1844. It is an Aboriginal word said to mean "place of the Whistling Eagle". During subsequent years the name was recorded variously as "Jandicoot", "Jandakoot" and "Jandakott" but the spelling eventually adopted was "Jandakot". The lake name was changed to Forrestdale Lake in 1973. The Government subdivided the Jandakot area into small farmlets in 1889.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Banjup*, Canning Vale*, Forrestdale, Harrisdale, Jandakot, Leeming and Piara Waters.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Banksia Park Primary School
Canning Vale Primary School
Forrestdale Primary School
Harrisdale Primary School
Harrisdale Senior High School
Leeming Primary School
Leeming Senior High School
Piara Waters Primary School
Ranford Primary School
West Leeming Primary School

Carey Baptist College - Forrestdale
Carey Baptist College - Harrisdale
St John Bosco College
Local Newspapers:
Cockburn City Herald
Cockburn Gazette
Local Governments within District
City of Armadale (part)
City of Canning (part)
City of Cockburn (part)
City of Melville (part)

2017 Election Result

Jandakot election result

Results by Polling Place etc

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Jandakot District

Joe Francis
Joe Francis

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Joseph (Joe) Francis Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Yaz Mubarakai Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election