Skip to main content

Joondalup Electorate Profile

Current Member

Raising a young family in the electorate of Joondalup, Emily Hamilton understands what is important to local residents.

Emily Hamilton has lived in the northern suburbs her entire life. Emily went to high school in the northern suburbs and completed a Bachelor of Politics and Law.

As a working mum with two young children Emily is an active member of her community. Her work for community representatives, including former MPs Tony O’Gorman and Ken Travers, demonstrated her commitment to improving our community.

Emily is committed to ensuring job opportunities in Joondalup, accessible healthcare close to home, and the best schools for kids.

Contact details and Speeches



Joondalup Electorate Map

Joondalup Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Joondalup Electorate

Joondalup Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Joondalup Stat 1
Joondalup Stat 4
Joondalup Stat 2
Joondalup Stat 5
Joondalup Stat 3
Joondalup Stat 6

* More Statistics for Joondalup Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Joondalup Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,671 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: This suburb is named after Lake Joondalup, situated on the eastern side of the suburb. Joondalup is an Aboriginal word first recorded in 1837, and possibly means "place of whiteness or glistening". Another account states that a 'joondal' is a creature that can only move backwards.
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Suburbs/Towns: Beldon*, Connolly, Currambine*, Edgewater, Heathridge and Joondalup*, Mullaloo and Ocean Reef
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Beaumaris Primary School; Beldon Primary School; Belridge Secondary College; Connolly Primary School; Eddystone Primary School; Edgewater Primary School; Heathridge Primary School; Mullaloo Beach Primary School; Mullaloo Heights Primary School; Ocean Reef Primary School; Ocean Reef Senior High school; Poseidon Primary School

Lake Joondalup Baptist College; Mater Dei College; Prendiville Catholic College; St Simon Peter Catholic Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Joondalup Times
Joondalup Weekender
Books about Joondalup:
Alan Lloyd: Saving Hepburn Heights bushland: the saga of the Hepburn Heights bushland reserve campaign (220p. Friends of Hepburn and Pinnaroo Bushland, 2009)
Local Governments within District
City of Joondalup (part)
Statistical Profile of City of Joondalup (part)

2017 Election Result

Fremantle election result

Results by Polling Place etc

2017 General State Election Analysis

Successive Members for the Joondalup District

Jacqueline Watkins
Jacqueline Watkins

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1988

Jacqueline Patricia Watkins Australian Labor Party 1983 - 1998
Constituency abolished under Redistribution of Seats 1988. Constituency revived under Redistribution of Seats 1994.
Christopher (Chris) John Baker Liberal Party 1996 - 2001
Anthony (Tony) O'Gorman Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2013
Jan-Henrik (Jan) Norberger Liberal Party 2013 - 2017
Emily Hamilton Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election