Skip to main content

Mandurah Electorate Profile

Current Member

David was born in Northam, Western Australia, and attended Northam Senior High School before going on to the Western Australian College of Advanced Education (now Edith Cowan University) to study teaching.

Before entering politics, David worked as a schoolteacher, teaching at primary schools in Three Springs, Warnbro, and Mandurah. He also served on the Mandurah City Council between 1994 and 2001, including as deputy mayor from 1997.

He entered Parliament in 2001 and was a minister in the Carpenter government. Following the 2017 election he took on three ministries—Culture and the Arts, Local Government, and Heritage—and was appointed Leader of the House.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Mandurah Electorate Map

Mandurah Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Mandurah Electorate

Mandurah Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Mandurah Stat 1
Mandurah Stat 4
Mandurah Stat 2
Mandurah Stat 5
Mandurah Stat 3
Mandurah Stat 6

* More Statistics for Mandurah Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Mandurah Electorate

Area (km2): 71 Number of Electors: 25,296 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Mandurah is a coastal city in the south west, 74 kilometres south of Perth. Land was originally reserved for a townsite named "Peel" on the west side of the entrance to Peel Inlet in July 1831 but no development took place and most early settlers took up residence on the east shore, the Aboriginal name of which was "Mandurah". The name is believed to be derived from the Aboriginal word "mandjar", meaning "trading place". Thomas Peel, an early settler in the area, named his residence "Mandurah House".
In July 1855, Thomas Peel surrendered to the Crown the area now bounded by Mandurah Terrace, Peel, Sholl and Gibson Streets to settle outstanding debts. It is likely that this area would have eventually become a townsite under the Land Act, but in 1898, it was discovered that the same area was included in lands held under Certificate of Title by G.C. Knight of Fremantle. The Registrar reported that the land had passed beyond the reach of caveat and consequently the Crown was unable to regain possession. As a result, Mandurah, although a fast growing settlement worthy of government interest, was developed purely by means of private subdivisions. The area was declared a townsite under the Local Government Act in 1950.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Barragup, Coodanup, Furnissdale, Greenfields, Lakelands, Madora Bay, Mandurah, Meadow Springs, Parklands, San Remo and Silver Sands.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Coodanup College
Greenfields Primary School
John Tonkin College
Lakelands Primary School
Mandurah Primary School
Meadow Springs Primary School
North Mandurah Primary School
Oakwood Primary School
Riverside Primary School

Assumption Catholic Primary School
Foundation Christian College
Frederick Irwin Anglican School
Mandurah Baptist College
Mandurah Catholic College
Local Newspapers:
Mandurah Mail
Mandurah Coastal Times
Books about Mandurah:
Jill Burgess: Mandurah - water under the bridge (172p. Town of Mandurah, 1988)
Ronald Richards: Murray and Mandurah - a sequel history of the Old Murray District of Western Australia (658p. Shire of Murray, 1993)
Ronald Richards: The Murray District of Western Australia, a history (500p. Shire of Murray, 1978)
W.C. Smart: Mandurah and Pinjarrah - history of Thomas Peel and the Peel Estate, 1829-1865 (96p. Paterson Brokensha, 1956)
Brian Hardy: Mandurah sketches, past & present (51p. Fontaine Press, 2007)
Local Governments within District
City of Mandurah (part)
Shire of Murray (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Mandurah District

John Read
John Read

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1982

John Bell Read Australian Labor Party 1983 - 1989
Roger Keith Nicholls Liberal Party 1989 - 2001
David Alan Templeman Australian Labor Party 2001 -
b = by-election