Skip to main content

Current Member

Janine has spent her working life advocating for working people and their families.

Janine has been UnionsWA Assistant Secretary; a Senior Industrial Officer with the Liquor Hospitality and Miscellaneous Workers Union; a Member of the WA WorkCover Board, and Deputy Chair of the industry superannuation fund, HESTA.

Janine has also served as a volunteer for over 20 years in community law services.

With an Economics Degree from the University of WA and board membership of both small community and large organisations, Janine brings an appreciation of the importance of effective government operations on business.

Janine was first elected in 2008 as the Labor Member for Nollamara.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Mirrabooka Electorate Map

Midland Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Mirrabooka Electorate

Mirrabooka Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Mirrabooka Stat 1
Mirrabooka Stat 4
Mirrabooka Stat 2
Mirrabooka Stat 5
Mirrabooka Stat 3
Mirrabooka Stat 6

* More Statistics for Mirrabooka Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Mirrabooka Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,376 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Mirrabooka is an Aboriginal word for the Southern Cross constellation. The name was proposed by the state government in 1954 for a large tract of land to be developed for public housing. It was named the "Mirrabooka Project", but the area now known as Mirrabooka was only named as a suburb in 1980.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Alexander Heights, Balga, Ballajura*, Dianella*, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, and Westminster.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Alinjarra Primary School
Balga Primary School
Balga Senior High School
Boyare Primary School
Burbridge Primary School
Dryandra Primary School
Gladys Newton School
Illawarra Primary School
Koondoola Primary School
North Balga Primary School
Waddington Primary School
Warriapendi Primary School
Westminster Junior Primary School
Westminster Primary School

John Septimus Roe Anglican Community School - Mirrabooka
St Andrew's Grammar
Majella Catholic Primary School
Mercy College
St Gerard's Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Eastern Suburbs Reporter
Local Governments within District
Shire of Stirling (part)
City of Swan (part)
City of Wanneroo (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Mirrabooka District

Janine Freeman
Janine Freeman

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Janine Freeman Australian Labor Party 2008 -
b = by-election