Skip to main content

Current Member

Simon Millman became the Member for the electorate of Mount Lawley at the 2017 State Election. The electorate of Mount Lawley includes the suburbs of Yokine, Menora and Coolbinia, plus parts of Dianella and Inglewood.

Simon is passionate about his local area, having lived there for many years. After graduating from UWA, he practiced law. He specialised in workers’ compensation, personal injury, discrimination law and asbestos-related diseases. With his strong sense of social justice, he also volunteered at local community legal centres.

Simon and his wife were married in the local church and his two young boys were born at the local hospital. He is campaigning tirelessly for quality schools for our kids, accessible healthcare for everyone, better public transport and less traffic congestion.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Mount Lawley Electorate Map

Morley Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Mount Lawley Electorate

Mount Lawley Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Mount Lawley Stat 1
Mount Lawley Stat 4
Mount Lawley Stat 2
Mount Lawley Stat 5
Mount Lawley Stat 3
Mount Lawley Stat 6

* More Statistics for Mount Lawley Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Mount Lawley Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,587 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: At the beginning of the twentieth century the whole of the Mount Lawley area was undeveloped bushland. At this time the Mount Lawley estate was purchased by Messrs Samuel W Copley and R T Robinson, who set out with the object of making this an attractive suburb, with the right type of home, and with every possible encouragement given to householders to create a garden suburb. Mount Lawley received its name in recognition of Sir Arthur Lawley, who was Governor of Western Australia for 15 months in 1901-02. Governor Lawley was born in 1860, and had a distinguished career in the British Army, and the Colonial Service.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Coolbinia*, Dianella*, East Perth*, Inglewood*, Maylands*, Menora, Morley*, Mt Lawley*, and Yokine.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Coolbinia Primary School
Mount Lawley Primary School
Sir David Brand School
Sutherland Dianella Primary School
West Morley Primary School
Yokine Primary School

Australian Islamic College - Dianella
Banksia Montessori School
Carmel School
Infant Jesus School
Our Lady's Assumption School
Perth College
St Paul's Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Guardian Express
Local Governments within District
City of Bayswater (part)
City of Stirling (part)
Town of Vincent (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Mount Lawley District

Michael Sutherland
Michael Sutherland

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Michael William Sutherland Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Simon Millman Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election