Skip to main content

Current Member

Bill Marmion has been the Member for Nedlands since his election in September 2008.

Bill was born in Kalgoorlie and grew up in both Wittenoom and Bunbury attending Wittenoom, Carey Park and Bunbury Central Primary Schools before Bunbury Senior High School and matriculating as a boarding student at Hale School.

After studying engineering at UWA, Bill worked for Main Roads, working and living in many regional areas of Western Australia including Narrogin, Bunbury, Derby and Kalgoorlie.

Throughout his time in Parliament he has served in a number of roles as a Parliamentary Secretary and Minister. Currently he is the Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Shadow Minister for Mines and Petroleum; Local Government; Defence Issues; Science.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Nedlands Electorate Map

Nedlands Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Nedlands Electorate

Nedlands Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Nedlands Stat 1
Nedlands Stat 4
Nedlands Stat 2
Nedlands Stat 5
Nedlands Stat 3
Nedlands Stat 6

* More Statistics for Nedlands Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Nedlands Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,587 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: In 1854, Colonel John Bruce, Military Commandant of the Colony, bought land in this area, intending the land to be the heritage of his son Edward. He is said to have referred to the estate as "Ned's Land". Edward Bruce, later Major Edward Bruce of the 19th Bengal Lancers, visited Western Australia in 1883 and on a mortgage dated 29 June in that year, the various locations left to him by his father are described as being the land "known as Nedlands". Development of the area mainly occurred between 1910 and 1920.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Claremont*, Crawley, Daglish, Dalkeith*, Floreat*, Jolimont, Karrakatta, Mt Claremont*, Nedlands, Shenton Park, Subiaco, Wembley* and West Leederville*.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Dalkeith Primary School
Hollywood Primary School
Jolimont Primary School
Nedlands Primary School
Perth Modern School
Rosalie Primary School
School of Special Education Needs: Medical & Mental Health
Shenton College
Shenton College Deaf Education Centre
Subiaco Primary School

Loreto Primary School
Moerlina School
Quintilian School
Local Newspapers:
Claremont-Nedlands Post
Western Suburbs Weekly
Books about Nedlands
A E Williams: Nedlands, from campsite to city (361p. City of Nedlands, 1984)
M R Clarke: Asteroids on the Swan (3 vols, Educational Publishers, 1993-1998)
Ken Spillman: Tales of a singular city - Subiaco since the 1970s (356p. City of Subiaco, 2006)
Ken Spillman: Identity prized - a history of Subiaco (365p. UWA Press, 1985)
Leonie Liveris: Memories eternal - the first 100 years of Karrakatta (311p. Metropolitan Cemeteries Board, 1999)
Ann Whyntie: The history of Sunset Hospital (186p, 1999)
Pamela Mikus: Graylands: the evolution of a suburb (Murdoch University thesis, 2013)
Libby Wailenborn (ed): The spiders won't eat you (2002)
Sofia Boranga: Unravelling Hammond Road (2004)
Leanne Bicknell: A comfortable and friendly place (1998)
Local Governments within District
Town of Cambridge (part)
City of Nedlands (part)
City of Perth (part)
City of Subiaco

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Nedlands District

Norbert Keenan
Norbert Keenan

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1929

Norbert Keenan Nationalist 1930 - 1950
David Grayden Liberal 1950 - 1953
Charles Walter Michael Court Liberal 1953 - 1982
Richard Fairfax Court Liberal 1982b - 2001
Susan (Sue) Walker Liberal 2001b - 2008
William (Bill) Richard Marmion Liberal 2008 -
b = by-election