Skip to main content

Current Member

Kevin has been a Labor member of the Western Australian Legislative Assembly since the 2017 state election, representing Pilbara.

Kevin was born in Golden Rock, India, and migrated to Australia in 1990. He studied at colleges in India, as well as RMIT and South East Metropolitan College of TAFE. He ran an air conditioning business in Karratha before entering politics

Contact details and Speeches



Pilbara Electorate Map

Pilbara Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Pilbara Electorate

Pilbara Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Pilbara Stat 1
Pilbara Stat 4
Pilbara Stat 2
Pilbara Stat 5
Pilbara Stat 3
Pilbara Stat 6

* More Statistics for Pilbara Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Pilbara Electorate

Number of Electors: 17,842 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Pilbara - Name derived from Pilbara Creek, a name first recorded in 1888. Sometimes refered to as being an Aboriginal name for the mullet (fish), but the source of this information is not known, and another more likely meaning in the Kariyarra language is ‘dry-dried out’ (source; Manny Lockyer of South Hedland and Wangka Maya Pilbara Aboriginal Language Centre).
Pilbara Creek, and sometimes Pilburra Creek is referred to a number of times in the “West Australian” 1/1/1888 to 16/8/1888, and the “Pilbara Goldfield” was proclaimed in the Government Gazette 1/10/1888. Beasley’s survey was in October 1888. There was no official change from the Pibarra spelling to the Pilbara spelling, it gradually coming in between 1905 and 1910. However, the reason for the change of spelling appears almost certainly to have been the adoption of “Rules for the Spelling of Native Geographical Names” by the Department of Lands and Surveys. The Department widely circulated a booklet on these rules in 1901. The rules were produced by the Royal Geographical Society in England, and adopted by the Foreign & Colonial Office, Admiralty etc. The double “R” spelling would have meant a pronunciation like Pinjarra, that is, the vowel is lengthened, whereas the single “R” shortened the vowel. It is presumed the current spelling identifies the correct pronunciation.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Baynton, Boodarie, Bulgarra, Burrup, Cooya Pooya, Cossack, Dampier, De Grey, Gap Ridge, Gibson Desert North, Indee, Karratha, Karratha Industrial Est, Maitland, Marble Bar, Mardie, Millars Well, Newman, Nickol, Nullagine, Pardoo, Pegs Creek, Pippingarra, Point Sampson, Port Hedland, Redbank, Roebourne, Sherlock, South Hedland, Strelley, Telfer, Wedgefield and Wickham.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Baler Primary School
Baynton West Primary School
Cassia Primary School
Christmas Island District High School
Cocos Islands District High School
Dampier Primary School
Hedland Senior High school
Jigalong Remote Community School
Karratha Primary School
Karratha Senior High school
Marble Bar Primary School
Millars Well Primary School
Newman Primary School
Newman Senior High School
Nullagine Primary School
Pegs Creek Primary School
Port Hedland Primary School
Port Hedland School of the Air
Roebourne District High school
South Hedland Primary School
South Newman Primary School
Wickham Primary School
Yandeyarra Remote Community Schools

Parnngurr Communitty School
Rawa Community School
St Cecilia's Catholic Primary School
St Luke's College
St Paul's Primary School
Strelley Community School
Local Newspapers:
Pilbara News
North West Telegraph
Books about Pilbara
W Owen: Cossack gold - the chronicles of an early Goldfields warden (216p. Hesperian Press, 1984)
Kathy de la Rue: Pearl shell and pastures - the story of Cossack and Roebourne and their place in the history of the North West, from earliest explorations to 1910 (134p. Cossack Project Committee, 1979)
D Gordon: the West Pilbara - sail and teams to bulk carriers and bitumen (149p. Hesperian Press, 2004)
Noel Olive: Enough is enough - a history of the Pilbara mob (300p. Fremantle Arts Centre Press, 2007)
Keith Smith: The great challenge - the saga of Yampi (230p. K R Smith, 1979)
Nancy Taylor: A saga of the north west - Yeera-muk-a-doo, an authentic history of the first settlement of North West Australia told through the Withnell and Hancock families, 1861-1890 (254p. Fremantle Arts Centre Press, 1980)
Eloise Sharp: Some ghosts, some not (225p. Hesperian Press, 2011)
Bert Wells: The wild Pilbara - iron country and its natural wonders (96p. Jaycees Community Foundation, 1982)
Kathleen Mallett: To the bar bonded - a history of early Marble Bar (334p. Hesperian Press, 1992)
Hugh Edwards: Gold dust and iron mountains, Marble Bar and beyond, the story of the Eastern Pilbara (267p. Hugh Edwards, 1993)
W Charnley: What happened at Braeside (21p. Hesperian Press, 2010)
Tish Lees: Lonely for my land - tales of Karratha Station and the nor' west (402p. Sid Harta Publications, 2010)
Jennie Hardie: Nor'westers of the Pilbara Breed (264p. Shire of Port Hedland, 1981)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Pilbara District

Tom Stephens
Tom Stephens

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 2007

Thomas (Tom) Gregory Stephens Australian Labor Party 2008 - 2013
Brendon John Grylls National Party 2013 - 2017
Kevin Joseph Jude Michel Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election