Skip to main content

Current Member

Immigrating to Australia in 1978 from the United States of America, Mike arrived in Western Australia in 1982. After working in different roles for a number of organisations, including the World Bank and the Institute of Public Affairs, Mike entered State Parliament in 2008.

Mike holds a PhD in Economics from the Australian National University and in 2000 was awarded a Centenary Medal by the Australian Government for his contribution to public policy in Australia.

After finishing school, Mike made ends meet by working on the family farm, trimming trees as a labourer and starting his own rural trucking business. These early working years gave Mike an affinity with people from all walks of life and a love of nature.

Mike has spent his life advocating for genuine solutions that will expand opportunity for everyone. From 21 March 2017 to 13 June 2019 he was Leader of the Opposition, and is currently the Shadow Minister for Planning; and Shadow Minister for Asian Engagement.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Riverton Electorate Map

Riverton Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Riverton Electorate

Riverton Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Riverton Stat 1
Riverton Stat 4
Riverton Stat 2
Morley Stat 5
Riverton Stat 3
Riverton Stat 6

* More Statistics for Riverton Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Riverton Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,200 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: Riverton derives its name from its location on the banks of the Canning River. The area was subdivided in 1914, and Riverton was referred to locally as Riverton Bridge in 1937 to avoid confusion with the South Australian suburb of Riverton. This name was never formally approved and officially the suburb has always been Riverton.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: Bull Creek, Brentwood*, Mount Pleasant*, Riverton*, Rossmoyne, Shelley and Willetton.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Bull Creek Primary School
Burrendah Primary School
Castlereagh School
Oberthur Primary School
Riverton Primary School
Rossmoyne Primary School
Rossmoyne Senior High School
Rostrata Primary School
Shelley Primary School
Willetton Primary School
Willetton Senior High School

All Saints' College
Queen of Apostles School
Woodthorpe School
Orana Catholic Primary School
Local Newspapers:
Canning Times
Canning Examiner
Local Governments within District
City of Canning (part)
City of Melville (part)

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Riverton District

Graham Kierath
Graham Kierath

Constituency created under the Redistribution of Seats 1988

Graham Donald Kierath Liberal Party 1989 - 2001
Anthony (Tony) David McRae Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Dr Michael (Mike) Dennis Nahan Liberal Party 2008 -
b = by-election