Skip to main content

Current Member

Ben Wyatt has Yamatji heritage through his father. Ben grew up in regional Western Australia, with his parents teaching in various locations in the Goldfields, including Laverton and Kalgoorlie. He returned to Perth to attend high school at Aquinas College, and later studied at the University of Western Australia, graduating with a Bachelor of Laws degree.

He also attended the Royal Military College, Duntroon, graduating as an Australian Army Reserve officer in 1996, and later received the Australian Defence Medal. After working in law firms in Perth and Sydney, Wyatt received a scholarship allowing him to study comparative politics at the London School of Economics.

He was elected to Parliament in 2006 and currently serves as Treasurer and Minister for Finance, Energy and Aboriginal Affairs.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Victoria Park Electorate Map

Victoria Park Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Victoria Park Electorate

Victoria Park Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Victoria Park Stat 1
Victoria Park Stat 4
Victoria Park Stat 2
Victoria Park Stat 5
Victoria Park Stat 3
Victoria Park Stat 6

* More Statistics for Victoria Park Electorate

*New* Statistics for 2021 Election Boundaries


About the Victoria Park Electorate

Number of Electors: 26,633 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
Nomenclature: The suburb of Victoria Park derives its name from Victoria Park Estate, a development that took place here in the 1890's. It is believed the name was given to the estate because Queen Victoria was still on the throne, although it may be connected with the Melbourne suburb of Victoria Park. It was declared a municipality in 1897.
(Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places. )
Suburbs/Towns: and Welshpool* and Wilson.
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Bentley Primary School
Canning College
Carson Street School
East Victoria Park Primary School
Lathlain Primary School
Millen Primary School
Victoria Park Primary School
Wilson Primary School

Al-Hidayah Islamic School
Perth Montessori School
Regent College
Rehoboth Christian College - Victoria Park
Santa Clara School
St Clare's School
Ursula Frayne Catholic College
Victoria Park Christian School
Local Newspapers:
Southern Gazette (Victoria Park)
Victoria Park Examiner

2017 Election Result

* Election analysis

Successive Members for the Victoria Park District

Howard Raphael
Howard Raphael

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1929

Howard Stirling Raphael Australian Labor Party 1930 - 1944
William Raymond Read Independent 1945b - 1953
Hugh David Andrew Australian Labor Party 1953 - 1961
Ronald Davies Australian Labor Party 1961b - 1986
Dr Geoffrey (Geoff) Ian Gallop Australian Labor Party 1986b - 2006
Benjamin (Ben) Sana Wyatt Australian Labor Party 2006b -
b = by-election