Skip to main content

Wanneroo Electorate Profile

Current Member

Sabine Winton has been a Wanneroo local since 1975. A teacher for over 25 years, Sabine has also been a City of Wanneroo Councillor. Sabine is married with three daughters, and her involvement in junior sports includes netball and Surf Life Saving activities.

As a Councillor she served on many committees and working groups that covered health, road safety, the environment, and reconciliation.

After graduating from Murdoch University with a primary teaching degree, Sabine worked and lived across the state, including in the Goldfields town of Norseman, Fitzroy Crossing in the Kimberley, and the tropical isolation of Cocos Keeling Islands. She looks fondly back over her time in remote communities as a period of great personal and professional growth - working with the Aboriginal community in Fitzroy Crossing and the Malay community on Cocos helped to shape her world view.

Contact details and Speeches


Facebook; Twitter

Wanneroo Electorate Map

Wanneroo Electorate map

(Click map for larger image)


Statistical Profile of the Wanneroo Electorate

Wanneroo Cover

(Click cover to download report)

Wanneroo Stat 1
Wanneroo Stat 4
Wanneroo Stat 2
Wanneroo Stat 5
Wanneroo Stat 3
Wanneroo Stat 6

About the Wanneroo Electorate

Number of Electors: 25,467 (9 March 2015)
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information.
In the early days of the Swan River Colony, the district of Wanneroo represented an "outer" region and it is not until 1834, that an excursion into the area by any explorers or settlers is recorded. In that year, a party of four led by John Butler, travelled about 35 miles north from Perth to search for lost cattle and passed through the area just to the east of Lake Joondalup. Butler stated that the aborigines of the area were "those Wanneroo men who frequent Perth in company with the Yellowgonga tribe." It is not known when early settlers started using the name "Wanneroo", but, as early as 1842, a Surveyor recorded "road to Wanneroo" and in 1844, James Dobbins gave his address as Wanneroo. A government townsite was gazetted as "Wanneru" in August 1907 and it was not until May 1953 that the spelling was amended to "Wanneroo".
Source: Western Australia. Department of Land Administration. Names and Places.
Ashby, Carabooda*, Carramar, Hocking, Neerabup*, Nowergup*, Pearsall, Pinjar, Sinagra, Tapping, Wanneroo*, and Yanchep*
* = Suburb/Town split between more than one District.
Source: Western Australian Electoral Commission. State Electorate Information
Government: Carramar Primary School; East Wanneroo Primary School; Hocking Primary School; Pearsall Primary School; Spring Hill Primary School; Tapping Primary School; Wanneroo Primary School; Wanneroo Secondary College

St Anthony's School; St Stephen's School
Local Newspapers:
Wanneroo Times
Wanneroo Community
Books about Wanneroo:
  • Guy Daniel: The story of Wanneroo (157p. Shire of Wanneroo, 1979)
  • Adrian Chambers: The Pioneers - a story of Wanneroo, 1834-1985 (228p. City of Wanneroo, 1991)
  • Stories of old Wanneroo, as told to Bill Marwick (292p. Wanneroo and Districts Historical Society, 2002)
  • The Times of Wanneroo, as told to Bill Marwick (396p. Wanneroo and Districts Historical Society, 2005)
  • Derek Newton: The wood block road to Wanneroo, celebrating 150 years of settlement (74p. Wanneroo Heritage Art, 2002)
  • John Crisafulli: The history of the Crisafulli family (181p. J Crisafulli, 2003)
Local Governments within District
City of Wanneroo (part) ; Statistical Profile of City of Wanneroo

2017 Election Result


Successive Members for the Wanneroo District

Jacqueline Watkins
Jacqueline Watkins

Constituency created under Redistribution of Seats 1988

Jacqueline Patricia Watkins Australian Labor Party 1989 - 1993
Wayde Shannon Smith Liberal Party 1996 - 1996
Iain Douglas MacLean Liberal Party 1996 - 2001
Dianne Joy Guise Australian Labor Party 2001 - 2008
Paul Terrance Miles Liberal Party 2008 - 2017
Sabine Elisabeth Winton Australian Labor Party 2017 -
b = by-election