Skip to main content
  • The Legislative Assembly meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Assembly sit 07/05/2024
  • The Legislative Council meets on 07/05/2024 (01:00 PM)
    Council sit 07/05/2024
  • The Public Administration meets on 29/04/2024 (11:00 AM)
    Committee meet 29/04/2024

Ms Janine Marie Freeman MLA

BEc, GradDipOH&S

Extract from the Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook

FREEMAN, Janine Marie, MLA
Former Member for Mirrabooka
Australian Labor Party


Elected to the Thirty-Eighth Parliament for Nollamara (new seat) on 6 September 2008. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 2011.
Elected to the Thirty-Ninth Parliament for Mirrabooka (new seat) on 9 March 2013.

Re-elected 2017.
Did not contest the general election of 13 March 2021 and succeeded by Meredith Jane Hammat (ALP).

Parliamentary Appointments

Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 16 April 2013 to 30 January 2017.
Acting Speaker of the Legislative Assembly from 16 May 2017 to 7 December 2020.

Standing Committees

Member, Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation from 13 November 2008 to 30 January 2013.
Member, Education and Health Standing Committee from 9 May 2013 to 30 January 2017.
Member, Education and Health Standing Committee from 23 May 2017 to 29 January 2021 (Chair from 24 May 2017).

Parliamentary Party Appointments

President, State Parliamentary Labor Party from 24 September 2008 to 13 March 2021.



Born 12 June 1965, Osborne Park, Western Australia.

Qualifications and occupation before entering Parliament

BEc, GradDip (OH&S).
Director Health Employees Superannuation Trust; Official at Liquor Hospitality Miscellaneous Union.


The electorate of Mirrabooka is located in the East Metropolitan Region and includes all or parts of the Cities of Stirling, Swan and Wanneroo.

Comprising of all or parts of the localities of Alexander Heights, Balga, Ballajura, Dianella, Koondoola, Mirrabooka, and Westminster.

Enrolment (2017) 27,798; area 22 sq kms.