Skip to main content

Management of Deliberate Self Harm in Young People

Inquiry status:Past
Date commenced:09 Nov 2005
Tabling date:21 Sep 2006
Date Ended:21 Sep 2006
Committee:Public Administration Committee
House:Legislative Council
Media Statements: 11/09/2005
Important Information:
Terms of Reference:The Public Administration Committee recently established a new initiative, whereby all reports tabled in the Parliament by Statutory office Holders are systematically examined to identify any issues that may warrant further investigation. The Inquiry into the Management of Deliberate Self Harm in Young Peopleis the first inquiry to result from this initiative. The Inquiry stemmed from a Report of the Auditor General in October 2005, which concluded that the Department of Health had made limited progress in implementing the recommendations of a November 2001 Performance Examination, Life Matters: Management of Deliberate Self Harm in Young People. The Inquiry is a detailed investigation of the actions taken by the Department of Health in response to the Auditor General's November 2001 Report.

Submission Number Submitting person/organisation
No submissions
Related Documents/Response to Questions on Notice:
Unless a venue is specified, hearings are held at the
Legislative Council Committee Rooms Ground Floor, 18-32 Parliament Place, West Perth

16 Nov 200511:15 AMAuditor General's OfficeMr Des Pearson, Auditor General; Dr Peter Wilkins, Executive Director, Performance Review
29 Nov 200506:00 PMLegislative Assembly Meeting Room, Parliament HouseMental Health Office, Department of HealthMs Karen Dickinson, Manager; Dr Peter Wynn Owen, Acting Director
03 May 200611:15 AMLegislative Council Committee OfficeMental Health Council of Australia; and WA Association for Mental HealthKeith Wilson Chair Mental Health Council of Australia President WA Association for Mental Health
31 May 200611:15 AMTelethon InstituteProfessor Sven Silburn
Related Transcripts of Evidence:
Evidence by.. Mr Des Pearson (Auditor General, Office of the Auditor General), Dr Peter Wilkins (Executive Director, Performance Review, Office of the Auditor General) on 16 Nov 2005
Evidence by.. Dr Peter Wynn Owen (Acting Director, Office of Mental Health, Department of Health), Ms Karen Dickinson (Manager, Office of Mental Health, Department of Health) on 29 Nov 2005
Evidence by.. Mr Keith Wilson (Former Chair, Mental Health Council of Australia) on 3 May 2006
Evidence by.. Professor Sven Robert Silburn (Chair, Ministerial Council for Suicide Prevention, C/- Telethon Institute for Child Health Research) on 31 May 2006