Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr Paul Domenic Omodei

Principal Honours
Date: 26 May 1950
Place: Manjimup, Western Australia
Arrival in WA
Son of Robert Henry Omodei, farmer, and Anna Mary Dellavedova
Marriage and Family
Married 5 June 1971, Sacred Heart Church, Pemberton to Rosslyn Mae Brown, daughter of Geoffrey Miller Brown and Margaret Henderson
Children: three sons and one daughter
Cause of Death:
Educated St Joseph’s School, Pemberton
Employment History
Farmer at Pemberton, horticulture and cattle. Since leaving school in 1965 in partnership with family as RH Omodei and Sons 1966–1979, stockman 1979.
Partnership with wife and children in own right as PD and RM Omodei 1979–2001
Owner Olde Eastbrook Wines from 1999
After leaving Parliament registered lobbyist as Paul Omodei and Associates
Local Government Service
Manjimup Shire Council 1976–1988, president 1983–1985 and 1987–1988
Two years deputy president of the South West Shire Councils Association
Member Executive Country Shire Councils’ Association, South West Planning Committee and South West Development Authority
Commissioner Shire of Cue April 2011–March 2012
Resigned from the Liberal Party 19 June 2008 and became Independent
Date Elected
4 February 1989
Inaugural Speech
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Paul Omodei
Valedictory Speech
No valedictory speech given
Year Retired/Resigned
Warren; Warren-Blackwood
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Warren 4 February 1989–14 February 1996. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament for Warren on 4 February 1989 in succession to Hywel David Evans (retired). Re-elected 1993. Electorate abolished in redistribution 1994.
  • MLA Warren–Blackwood 14 December 1996–6 September 2008. Elected to the Thirty-fifth Parliament for Warren–Blackwood (new seat) on 14 December 1996. Re-elected 2001, 2005. Did not contest the general election of 6 September 2008
  • Contested Warren 8 February 1986

  • Leader of the Opposition 24 March 2006–17 January 2008
  • Shadow Minister for Agriculture and South West (until August 1991) 7 March 1989–24 May 1992; for Agriculture, Local Government, and Great Southern (from 18 August 1992) 24 May 1992–24 November 1992
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Local Government 24 November 1992–6 February 1993
  • Member Opposition Management Team (later Coalition Management Team) 24 May 1992–12 February 1993
  • Minister for Local Government, Water Resources (until 10 February 1995), and Multicultural and Ethnic Affairs (from 10 February 1995) 16 February 1993–9 January 1997; for Local Government, Disability Services, and Forest Products (from 22 December 1999) 9 January 1997–5 February 2001
  • Shadow Minister for Police, Emergency Services, and South West 9 March 2001–31 December 2001; for Local Government (until 24 February 2003), Agriculture (from 24 February 2003), Emergency Services, Regional Development, and Forests (from 4 February 2004) 1 January 2002–27 May 2004
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Labour Relations, Agriculture and Forests (including Salinity) 27 May 2004–26 February 2005
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition March–October 2005
  • Shadow Minister for Water Resources and Agriculture 9 March 2005–28 October 2005; for Agriculture Mines and Resources 4 February 2006–8 April 2006
  • Leader of the Opposition 24 March 2006–17 January 2008
  • Shadow Minister for Mines and Resources 8 April 2006–17 January 2008; for State Development and Industry 24 January 2008–13 May 2008
  • Manager Opposition Business (Legislative Assembly) 4 February 2006–8 April 2006

  • Member Select Committee on the Right to Farm 25 October 1989–14 November 1991
  • Member Standing Committee on Community Development and Justice 7 April 2005–22 June 2005
  • Coopted member Standing Committee on Economics and Industry for Inquiry into the Production and Marketing of Foodstuffs 1 June 2005–30 March 2006
Private Member's Bills
Children and Community Services (Mandatory Reporting) Amendment Bill 2006 Second reading not agreed to - 20/11/2007
Corruption and Crime Commission Amendment (Investigative Function) Bill 2007 Bill Lapsed - 07/08/2008
Former member WA Farmers’ Federation
Chairman Pemberton Zone Potato Growers’ Association three years
Chemical Residue Action Group
Chairman Manjimup Soil Conservation Committee
Member Warren Lefroy Rivers Advisory Committee and Windy Harbour Board Control
Member South West Development Authority—South West Planning Committee
Justice of the Peace, 1987
Member Pemberton Hospital Board
Member Catholic School Board and Parents & Friends
Player and coach with Southerners Football Club
Member Pemberton Community Centre and Manjimup Indoor Sports Pavilion Committee
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 200-201
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 21 May 2014.
West Australian 9 April 2011
Further Information