Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Hon Norman Frederick Moore

Principal Honours
Centenary Medal awarded 1 January 2001 for service to Australian society through parliament
Member of the Order of Australia (AM) awarded 26 January 2016 for significant service to the Parliament of Western Australia through a range of portfolio responsibilities, to education, and to the community
Date: 24 August 1945
Place: Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
Arrival in WA
Son of Frederick John Moore, purchasing officer and mine storekeeper, and Patricia Dorothy Chidlow
Marriage and Family
Married 1 January 1977, Perth to Lee Britnell daughter of John Spence Britnell and Agnes Robina
Children: one son and two daughters
Cause of Death:
Educated Bullfinch Primary School and Northam Senior High School, Western Australia
University of Western Australia and Claremont Teachers College (1963–1966)—BA, Dip Ed, Teachers’ Higher Certificate
Teacher and principal
Employment History
School teacher at Carnamah Junior High School 1967, Morawa Junior High School 1968, Cyril Jackson Senior High School 1969–1970
Deputy principal Karratha Junior High School 1970–1971
Tom Price District High School 1972–1975 (Acting Principal 1975)
Principal Laverton District High School 1976
Local Government Service
President Tom Price branch of Liberal Party 1974–1976
Inaugural senior vice-president Kalgoorlie (North) Division 1974–1975, president 1975–1976
Member State Executive 1975–1976, State Council 1975–1976 and from 1980
Date Elected
22 May 1977
Inaugural Speech
Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Norman Moore
Valedictory Speech
Year Retired/Resigned
Lower North; Mining and Pastoral
Parliamentary Service
  • MLC Lower North Province 22 May 1977–21 May 1989. Elected to the Twenty-ninth Parliament from 22 May 1977 for Lower North Province in succession to Stanley James Dellar (defeated). Re-elected 1983.
  • MLC Mining and Pastoral Region 22 May 1989–21 May 2013. Elected to the Thirty-third Parliament from 22 May 1989 for Mining and Pastoral Region. Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001, 2005, 2009 (for terms commencing 22 May). Retired 21 May 2013

  • Parliamentary Secretary of Cabinet 5 March 1980–25 January 1982
  • Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Housing (until 13 March 1984), Sport and Recreation (from 13 March until July 1984), Regional Development and North-West (from July 1984) and Transport (from 1985) March 1983–19 March 1986; for Education, Consumer Affairs, Youth, Family and Women’s Interests 19 March 1986–December 1986; for Youth, Education, Community Services (until 26 April 1988), and North-West (from 26 April 1988) December 1986–7 March 1989
  • Secretary to Shadow Cabinet 1984
  • Shadow Minister (Coalition Shadow Minister from 24 November 1992) for Mines, North West, Goldfields, and Lands and member of Opposition (later Coalition) Management Team 24 May 1992–16 February 1993
  • Minister for Education, Employment and Training, Sport and Recreation (from 25 August 1993), and Minister Assisting the Minister for Commerce and Trade 16 February 1993–10 February 1995; for Education (until 21 December 1995), Employment and Training, Tourism (from 21 December 1995), Sport and Recreation, and Parliamentary and Electoral Affairs 10 February 1995–9 January 1997; for Mines, Tourism, Sport and Recreation, and Racing and Gaming (from 22 December 1999) 9 January 1997–15 February 2001
  • Leader of the Government in the Legislation Council 26 April 1996–15 February 2001
  • Leader of the Opposition in the Legislation Council February 2001–September 2008
  • Shadow Minister for Mines, Lands and Kimberley 9 March–31 December 2001; for Resources Development, Mines, Kimberley and Pilbara 1 January 2002–24 February 2003; for Resources Development, Water Resources, Kimberley and Pilbara 24 February 2003–27 May 2004
  • Coalition Shadow Minister for Resources Development, Mines and North West 27 May 2004–20 March 2005
  • Shadow Minister for Mines, Resources, Electoral Affairs, and the North West 20 March 2005–4 February 2006; for Policy Development 4 February 2006–8 April 2006; for Policy Coordination, and chairmanship of Opposition Committees 8 April 2006–25 January 2008; for Government Enterprises, Tourism, Electoral Affairs, and Policy Development 25 January 2008–20 June 2008; for State Development Resources, Industry and Enterprise, and Electoral Affairs 20 June 2008–8 August 2008; for Resource Development, and Electoral Affairs 8 August 2008–23 September 2008
  • Minister for Justice 12 June 2012 - 29 June 2012
  • Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council and Minister for Mines and Petroleum, Fisheries, and Electoral Affairs from 23 September 2008 to 21 March 2013

  • Member Standing Committee on Government Agencies 1982–11 May 1994 (Chairman from 6 June 1990)
  • Chairman Select Committee on Aboriginal Poverty 29 May 1984–26 November 1985
  • Chairman Select Committee on the Allocation of Funds by the Aboriginal Liaison Committee 15 July 1986–19 November 1986
  • Member Select Committee on National Parks 1979 and 1980–1981
  • Member Select Committee on Burswood Management Ltd 31 May–23 August 1988
  • Member Select Committee on a Matter of Privilege relating to the Select Committee inquiring into Burswood Management Ltd 16–24 June 1988
  • Member Select Committee on a Matter of Privilege relating to the Soccer Federation of WA, Newsletter Attack on Hon Samuel Piantadosi 16 October 1991–14 November 1991
  • Chairman Select Committee on Rules, Orders and Usage of the House 5 December 2002–12 March 2003
  • Member Select Committee into the Department of Education and Training 15 November 2006–7 December 2006
  • Member Select Committee into the Appropriateness of Powers and Penalties for Breaches of Parliamentary Privilege and Contempts of Parliaments 5 June 2008–7 May 2009

  • Delegate to DOMSAT (domestic satellite) Conference, Canberra, 1979 to Australian Constitutional Conventions 1983, 1985

  • Trustee Parliamentary Superannuation Fund 5 September 1989–3 June 1992

Historical Notes
  • Father of the Legislative Council from 22 May 1997–21 May 2013
Private Member's Bills
Daylight Saving Amendment Bill (No. 3) 2007 Bill Lapsed - 07/08/2008
Branch president State School Teachers’ Union 1969–1974 at Cyril Jackson, Karratha and Tom Price
President Claremont Teachers’ College Student Council 1966
Chairman Nameless Festival Committee Tom Price 1974, 1975
Chairman Laverfest committee, Laverton 1976

Treasurer Parents & Citizens, Tom Price 1974, Laverton 1976
President Tom Price Tennis Club 1975, Laverton Tennis Club 1976
President Tom Price Golf Club 1974–1976
Member Laverton Sports Club, Royal Perth Golf Club
One time member Carnarvon Club
Secretary and then life member Murchison Racing Association

Following parliament appointed consultant at MinterElison: "relevant to mining and petroleum legislation, indigenous governance issues, including Native Title, environmental issues relating to the mining and petroleum industries, and providing guidance on parliamentary procedures and processes at both the local and federal level". Announced October 2013.
BA, Dip Ed
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 185-186.
It's an Honour website, accessed 27 January 2016.
"Former WA Minister joins MinterEllison in Perth", MinterEllison website. Accessed 22 January 2018
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 20 May 2014.
Further Information
Moore, Norman Frederick, Oral History.pdf
West Australian 21 February 1977
Who's Who in Western Australia (1983)