Skip to main content

Members’ biographical register

Mr Eric Stephen Ripper

Principal Honours
Member of the Order of Australia awarded 26 January 2017 for significant service to the people and Parliament of Western Australia, particularly through budgetary reform, native title policy, and energy sector developments
Date: 13 September 1951
Place: Subiaco, Western Australia
Arrival in WA
Son of Harry Herbert Ripper, farmer, and Bernice Louise Sutton
Marriage and Family
Married 14 August 1982, Wembley Downs to Patricia Yvonne Pearce, daughter of Ronald Malcolm Pearce and Betty Mary Crain and sister of Robert John Pearce
Children: two sons
Partner to Ljiljanna Maria Ravlich
Cause of Death:
Not stated
Educated Nyabing Primary School and Churchlands Senior High School
University of Western Australia BA, Dip Ed
Teacher, union official and ministerial adviser
Employment History
Commonwealth public servant 1973
School teacher at Highgate Primary School 1975 and City Beach Senior High School 1976–1977
Overseas travel and working holiday January 1978–January 1981
School teaching on a casual basis till mid 1981
Students Records Officer Western Australia College of Advanced Education mid 1981–August 1983
Organiser (membership and branch services) State School Teachers’ Union 29 August 1983–7 August 1987
Technical adviser to Minister for Community Services, Hon Kay Hallahan with special responsibility for Children’s Services and the Aged August 1987–March 1988
Delegate from Civil Service Association to Trades and Labour Council 1982, 1983
Local Government Service
Joined Australian Labor Party 1969
President then secretary University branch 1971 and 1974
Secretary then president Bentley branch 1975–1977
Vice-president Subiaco branch 1982
Secretary Belmont–Rivervale branch 1984–1986
Vice-president Swan Electorate Council 1987
Member State Executive 1971, 1976–1977, and from 1982
Delegate to State Conferences 1973, 1976, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1986
Delegate to Australian Young Labor (AYL) Conference and Swan, Tangney and Curtin Electorate Councils
Date Elected
19 March 1988
Inaugural Speech

Inaugural Video
No inaugural video is available as filming did not start until May 2003
Search for speeches by Eric Ripper
Valedictory Speech
Ripper, Eric Stephen,Valedictory Speech.pdfRipper, Eric Stephen,Valedictory Speech.pdf
Year Retired/Resigned
Ascot; Belmont
Parliamentary Service
  • MLA Ascot 19 March 1988–4 February 1989. Elected to the Thirty-Second Parliament for Ascot at the by-election held on 19 March 1988 to fill the vacancy consequent upon the resignation of Malcolm John Bryce. Electorate abolished in the redistribution of 1988.
  • MLA Belmont 4 February 1989–8 March 2013. Elected to the Thirty-Third Parliament for Belmont (new seat) on 4 February 1989. Re-elected 1993, 1996, 2001, 2005, 2008.
  • Contested Murdoch 19 February 1983
  • Pre-selection for Morley–Swan 1987

  • Minister for Community Services (Community Development from 7 September 1992); Disability Services from 20 August 1991); The Family (from 7 September 1992); Youth Justice (from 7 September 1992) from 5 February 1991–16 February 1993
  • Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly from 26 October 1992–16 February 1993
  • Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Energy from 16 February 2001–26 February 2005
  • Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Minister for Government Enterprises; Minister Assisting the Minister for Public Sector Management from 10 March 2005–13 December 2006
  • Deputy Premier; Treasurer; Minister for State Development 13 December 2006–23 September 2008
  • Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly 26 October 1992–16 February 1993
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 20 December 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Community Development; Family from 17 February 1993–7 February 1994
  • Shadow Minister for Water Resources; Works and Services from 7 February 1994–18 October 1994
  • Shadow Minister for Finance; Commerce and Trade from 18 October 1994–23 January 1995
  • Shadow Minister for Resource Development 23 January 1995–18 March 1996
  • Shadow Minister for Resource Development; Parliamentary and Electoral Reform; Finance (from 15 October 1997) 18 March 1996–15 January 1997
  • Shadow Minister for Education; Accountability 15 January 1997–4 August 1999
  • Shadow Leader of the House in the Legislative Assembly 17 February 1993–15 January 1997
  • Spokesperson for Treasury; Energy; Accountability 5 August 1999–10 February 2001
  • Leader of the Opposition from 23 September 2008; Shadow Minister for Public Sector Management and Native Title from 26 September 2008–23 January 2012

  • Deputy Chairman of Committees April 1989–March 1991
  • Member Public Accounts and Expenditure Review Committee (Chairman from April 1990) April 1989–March 1991
  • Member Joint Standing Committee on Delegated Legislation April 1989–19 March 1991
  • Joint Chairman Estimates Committee 1990
  • Member Standing Orders and Procedure Committee 22 June 1993–7 September 2000
  • Member Procedure and Privileges Committee 8 September 2000–10 January 2001
  • Member Select Committee on the Reproductive Technology Working Party's Report 15 November 1988–15 December 1998
  • Member Select Committee on Energy and Processing of Resources 27 September 1989–12 November 1991
  • Member Select Committee on Science and Technology 24 March 1994–24 November 1994
  • Member Select Committee on Procedure 12 October 1994–27 June 1996
  • Member Select Committee on Crime Prevention 15 October 1997–23 September 1999
Private Member's Bills
Acts Amendment (Safety and Human Rights of Persons in Custody) Bill 2009 Bill discharged from Notice Paper under Standing Order 144A - 27/9/2011
Container Deposit and Recovery Scheme Bill 2011 Legislative Assembly Second Reading - 19/10/2011
Skilled Local Jobs Bill 2011 Second reading not agreed to - 31/8/2011
Former member Australian Conservation Foundation—Campaign to Save Native Forests
Member Tranby Primary School Parents and Citizens
Member Tomato Lake Child Care Interim Management Committee
Chairman Belmont Crime Prevention Steering Committee
BA, Dip Ed
D Black and G Bolton, eds, Biographical Register of Members of the Parliament of Western Australia: volume two 1930-2010, Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, Perth, WA, 2011, p. 224.
It's an Honour website. Accessed 11 January 2018.
Parliament of Western Australia, Former Members, Parliament of Western Australia website, accessed 21 May 2014.
Further Information