Skip to main content

Parliamentary Questions

Question Without Notice No. 986 asked in the Legislative Council on 7 December 2017 by Hon Dr Steve Thomas

Parliament: 40 Session: 1
Answered on


986. Hon Dr STEVE THOMAS to the Leader of the House representing the Minister for Public Sector Management:
I refer to question without notice 908, which I asked on Thursday, 30 November 2017. Given that the answer reflects that 2 853 FTEs were added to the general government public service in one year, from 2015–16 to 2016–17, can the Premier please provide a breakdown of which departments those employees or FTEs were added?
Hon SUE ELLERY replied:
I thank the honourable member for some notice of the question.
The Public Sector Commission has provided a table, which I seek leave to have incorporated into Hansard.
Leave granted.
The following material was incorporated —

FTE change from 2015–16
Western Australian public sector total110 662+2 853
Department of Education39 069+1 398
Department of Health35 084+934
Department of Corrective Services4 414+254
Western Australia Police (Police Service)12 050+178
Department for Child Protection and Family Support2 192+30
Housing Authority1 670+147
Public Transport Authority of Western Australia1 635+32
Department of Fire and Emergency Services1 616+73
Department of Parks and Wildlife1 450+38
Department of the Attorney General1 442+19
Disability Services Commission1 373-85
Department of Transport1 353+28
North Metropolitan TAFE1 171+151
South Metropolitan TAFE1 110-283
Department of Agriculture and Food1 007+79
Department of Finance1 012+24
Main Roads WA1 015+5
Department of Commerce770+26
Department of Culture and the Arts2622-19
Department of Mines and Petroleum746-24
Department of Training and Workforce Development496+16
Department of the Premier and Cabinet454-22
Department of Fisheries462-8
South Regional TAFE342-32
Department of Water424-21
Department of Planning420-17
Central Regional TAFE328-21
Insurance Commission of Western Australia358+15
Mental Health Commission2920

1 Sworn officers are employed by the Police Force (a non-public sector entity as defined in the Public Sector Management Act 1994), separated from the Police Service.
2 The Department of Culture and the Arts includes the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Perth Theatre Trust, State Library of Western Australia, and the Western Australian Museum.

FTE change from 2015–16
Legal Aid Commission of Western Australia279+17
Department of Environment Regulation301-2
North Regional TAFE260+16
Department of Treasury264-35
Department of Local Government and Communities239-19
Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions226-2
Department of Lands226+19
Forest Products Commission204+24
Department of Sport and Recreation159-15
Zoological Parks Authority160-2
Public Sector Commission115-13
Country High School Hostels Authority120+11
Department of Regional Development148+2
School Curriculum and Standards Authority136-20
Metropolitan Cemeteries Board147+12
Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority125+2
Office of the Auditor General140+5
WorkCover Western Australia Authority129-4
Department of State Development133-14
Chemistry Centre (WA)133+19
Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority125-6
Department of Aboriginal Affairs125-2
Corruption and Crime Commission115-8
Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor100-1
Rottnest Island Authority96+7
Department of Education Services96-4
Office of the Environmental Protection Authority89+7
Tourism WA81-1
Department of the State Heritage Office66+4
Animal Resources Authority58-4
Western Australian Electoral Commission54+8
Economic Regulation Authority52+2
Western Australian Meat Industry Authority26+16
Small Business Development Corporation48-2
Legal Practice Board39-6
Government Employees Superannuation Board40-6
The National Trust of Australia (W.A.)28-4
Department of the Registrar Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission34+4
Road Safety Commission26+9
Equal Opportunity Commission21+1
South West Development Commission19-3
Pilbara Development Commission19+1
Office of the Commissioner for Children and Young People17+1
Construction Training Fund19-1
FTE change from 2015–16
Health and Disability Services Complaints Office16-2
Office of the Inspector of Custodial Services16-2
Peel Development Commission13+2
Wheatbelt Development Commission140
Mid-West Development Commission140
Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission120
Great Southern Development Commission11-1
Office of the Information Commissioner110
Keep Australia Beautiful Council (W.A.)10+1
Gascoyne Development Commission11+2
Kimberley Development Commission7-1
Veterinary Surgeons’ Board40
Burswood Park Board40
Minerals and Energy Research Institute of Western Australia3+1
Salaries and Allowances Tribunal3-1
Architects Board of Western Australia20
Law Reform Commission of Western Australia20
Note: The numbers above do not add up precisely to the totals provided due to rounding.