Skip to main content

Parliamentary Questions

Question On Notice No. 2594 asked in the Legislative Council on 17 October 2019 by Hon Tim Clifford

Question Directed to the: Minister for Environment
Minister responding: Hon S.N. Dawson
Parliament: 40 Session: 1

I refer to the response given to question without notice 858, regarding the Department of Water and Environmental Regulations climate change unit convening an interagency steering group, and I ask:
(a) what is the purpose of the steering group;
(b) who are the members of the group; and
(c) how often does the group meet and will the Minister please table all dates of meeting, including the inception date?

Answered on 21 November 2019

(a)–(b) The Directors General Climate Policy Steering Group provides agency input to support development of the State Climate Policy. The Steering Group is chaired by the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation and includes representatives from the departments of the Premier and Cabinet; Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation; Finance; Fire and Emergency Services; Primary Industries and Regional Development; Planning, Lands and Heritage; Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety; Communities; Health; Treasury; Transport; Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions; Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries, and the Chief Scientist of Western Australia.

(c) Meetings are convened as required. Meetings have been held on:

15 February 2019 – inception meeting

29 May 2019

27 June 2019

6 August 2019

29 October 2019

10 December 2019 (scheduled)