WESTERN AUSTRALIA

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

No. 60

FIRST SESSION OF THE FORTY-FIRST PARLIAMENT

WEDNESDAY, 16 MARCH 2022

1. Meeting of Assembly

The Assembly met at 12.00 noon pursuant to adjournment.

Mr D.A.E. Scaife, Acting Speaker, took the Chair.

An Acknowledgement of Country and Prayers were read.

2. Paper

The following paper was presented and ordered to lie upon the Table of the House – By the Clerk –

Commissioner for Children and Young People, Joint Standing Committee on the – Government Response to Report No. 3: The Merits of Appointing a Commissioner for Aboriginal Children and Young People (1016).

3. Speaker's Statement – Correction to Explanatory Memorandum

The Acting Speaker advised members that the Speaker had authorised a replacement Explanatory Memorandum for the Railway (Metronet) Amendment Bill 2022 introduced into the House on 23 February 2022, to correct an error in the short title and in Clause 1.

4. Notices of Motion Lapsed

The Acting Speaker advised that Private Members' Business Notices of Motion Nos 1 to 4 had lapsed and, unless the member indicated otherwise, would be removed from the Notice Paper.

5. Brief Ministerial Statements

Brief Ministerial Statements were made by –

The Attorney General on the tabling of a report on the statutory review of the *Victims of Crime Act 1994* (WA).

Paper

The following paper was presented and ordered to lie upon the Table of the House – By the Attorney General –

Attorney General – Department of Justice – A report on the statutory review of the *Victims of Crime Act 1994* (WA) (1017).

The Minister for Industrial Relations on the proclamation of the *Work Health and Safety Act* 2020 and its regulations, on 31 March 2022.

The Minister for Mines and Petroleum on a Greenhouse Gas Storage and Transport Bill.

The Minister for Women's Interests on the WA Women's Hall of Fame 2022 awards.

The Minister for Child Protection on the Department of Communities' Best Beginnings Plus Program.

The Minister for Small Business on the COVID-19 Business Assistance Package to support businesses adversely affected by COVID.

The Minister for Commerce on the consultation process for the draft Funeral Pricing Code of Practice under the *Fair Trading Act 2010* (WA).

The Minister for Tourism on the total solar eclipse, viewable only in Exmouth and the North West Cape on 20 April 2023.

6. Forest Products Amendment Bill 2021

The Order of the Day for the resumption of the debate upon the second reading of the bill was read.

Debate resumed.

Debate interrupted by the Chair (Mrs L.M. O'Malley speaking) and adjourned until a later stage of the sitting.

7. Questions

Questions without Notice were taken.

Questions on Notice Nos 396 to 435 were asked.

8. Variation to the Order of Business

Ordered, That consideration of Government Business Order of the Day No. 1 be resumed.

9. Forest Products Amendment Bill 2021

The Order of the Day for the resumption of the debate upon the second reading of the bill was read.

Debate resumed.

Debate interrupted by the Chair (Minister for Forestry speaking in reply) and adjourned until a later stage of the sitting.

10. Variation to the Order of Business

Ordered, That Private Members' Business Notice of Motion No. 13 be next considered.

11. Department of Communities

Ms M.J. Davies, pursuant to notice, moved,

That this House condemns the McGowan Government's dangerous management of the Department of Communities, placing the health and welfare of the State's most vulnerable people at risk.

Debate ensued.

Debate interrupted by the Chair (Minister for Mines and Petroleum speaking) and adjourned until a later stage of the sitting.

12. Adjournment

The Minister for Mines and Petroleum moved, That the House do now adjourn. Question put and passed.

The Assembly adjourned accordingly at 7.00 pm until Thursday, 17 March 2022 at 9.00 am. *Members present during any part of the day's proceedings* – All the members except Ms L.L. Baker, Ms H.M. Beazley, Mr V.A. Catania, Ms K.E. Giddens, Mr M. McGowan, Mr S.J. Price, Ms C.M. Rowe, Ms J.J. Shaw and Mr D.A. Templeman.

KIRSTEN M. ROBINSONClerk of the Legislative Assembly

HON. MICHELLE H. ROBERTS Speaker of the Legislative Assembly